homepage logo

OVAC All-Star Football rosters named

By Staff | Jul 21, 2021

Following a year without the OVAC Rudy Mumley All-Star Football classic due to the pandemic, the lights will be back on at Wheeling Island stadium this Saturday night starting at 7:15. The event will have the usual flair , with the playing of the All-Star and the crowning of the Queen.

Fort Frye’s Eric Huck and Linsly’s B.J. Depew will serve as the head coaches of Ohio and West Virginia, respectively. Both coaches have finalized their rosters and camp opened up this past Sunday at Bethany College.

Both coaches are excited about their teams and are glad to have the rosters expanded to 37 plaers from the usual 33.

They feel this will give each team more freedom to move players around and have extra players incase of injuries or openings in case some drop out.

The game will mark the 75th year the two teams have met and anticipation among coaches, players and fans couldn’t be higher.

The Ohio roster is made up of Brian Adkins (Fort Frye), Jaymison Baker (Fort Frye), Will Balgo (St. Clairsville), Justin Bartlett (Cambridge), Jeremy Brown (Indian Creek), David Burgey (Steubenville), Evan Carpenter (Martins Ferry), Dylan Czech (East Liverpool), Carter Dennis (River), Dylan Hart (Fort Frye), Brady Kutscherenko (Fort Frye), Cian Montgomery (Steubenville), Dylan Moore (Beaver Local), Logan Ortt (New Philadelphia), Justin Rimer (New Philadelphia), Jake Rose (River), Matt Schaefer (Indian Creek), Reese Skaggs (St. Clairsville), Mitchell Stokey (New Philadelphia), Preston Thaman (Martins Ferry), Tyler Tonkovich (St. Clairsville), Brock Valentine (Cambridge), Tommy Warrick (Beaver Local), Howard Williams (East Liverpool), Joel Chevalier (Warren), Garret Cramer (Monroe Central), Garrett Dozier (Toronto), Ryan Gorman (Steubenville Central), Ayden Hannahs (Barnesville), Brian Palmer Jr. (Buckeye Local), Vince Patrone (Bellaire), Briar Portman (Shenandoah), Rocco Romeo (Conotton Valley), Jacob Visnic (Shadyside) and Timothy Wehr (Caldwell).

The West Virginia roster looks like this: Marco Aprea (Linsly), Eliki Barner (University), Daniel Beatles (Oak Glen), Jason Beisel (Magnolia), Tracy Brooks (University), Jordan Bruce (Weir), Alex Burton (John Marshall), Deacon Carmichael (Cameron), Samuel Casto (Brooke), Deondre Crudup (Morgantown), Dimitrius Deshield (University), Anthony DiMatteis (Weir), Steve Felton (Linsly), Dalton Flowers (John Marshall), Devin Gaines (Parkersburg South), Beau Heller (Wheeling Park), Spencer Helms (Wheeling Central), Gabriel Hendershot (Parkersburg South), Kobe Hill (Linsly), Drake Hukill (Brooke), Hunter Kelley (Linsly), Isaac Keller (Magnolia), Joao Lima (Linsly), Silas McKeever (Magnolia), Payton Marling (Wheeling Central), Stevie Mitchell (Wheeling Park), Kyler O’Connor (Oak Glen), Cody Poe (Hundred), Lucky Pulice (Madonna), Gage Reitter (Weir), Levi Rice (Parkersburg South), Anthony Sessi (Madonna), Sincere Sinclair (Wheeling Park), Jeremy Taylor (Oak Glen), Torrence Walker (Wheeling Park), Jordan Waterhouse (Wheeling Central).

It’s the last chance for most of these guys to don the uniform once again and show what they can do. Look for an explosive game from both teams as they are loaded with skill players in all positions.