homepage logo

Todd Brennan, Cruz Vandall, Justin Carpenter Star on Opening Night at the Valley

By Staff | Apr 28, 2021

(Lubeck, WV) Race number one of the 2021 season got underway with frigid temps but lots of hot action on the track as the 63rd season took the green flag at Ohio Valley Speedway. Parking it in victory lane on opening night was Todd Brennan, Cruz Vandall, Justin Carpenter, Logan Perine and Mack Brookover. It was great to see all the fans come back out and brave the cool temps and they were rewarding with a great night of action. The newly resurfaced and widened Ohio Valley Speedway provided great side-by-side racing all evening long setting up a season of can’t miss action every Friday Night.

In the Super Late Model main event, disaster would strike early leaders as Chris Carpenter would appear to relinquish a motor and Ronnie Mayle’s stay at the front was short lived with a flat tire. This would set up a great battle between Todd Brennan, Tyler Evans and Harold Redman up front. When the first checkered of the season would waive however it was all Todd Brennan picking up the win over a hard charging Harold Redman, 2020 track champion Tyler Evans, Tyler Stutler and Brandon Francis. Brennan pilots the sharp looking Wheeling Auto Body/ Hot 107 Rocket and hails from Zanesville, Ohio.

In the UMP Modified division it was South Charleston, WV’s Cruz Vandall grabbing the hardware. A great battle between Vandall who was working the top shelf and Coleman Evans working the bottom would thrill fans with Vandall grabbing the win. Following Vandall across the stripe was Evans, Kenny Johnson, Mitch Thomas and Booger Garnes.

Cruz Vandall would double up as he would lay claim to the Pike Street Lanes Sportmod main event after a race long battle with Jayson Spaur and Miles Cook. Following Vandall across the line was Spaur, Cook, Toby Wilson and Steven Dotson.

Justin Carpenter loves opening night as the driver of the #17 would roll to his second straight opening night win in the Bill’s Auto Salvage SCDRA 4 Cylinder division. A strong field of eighteen 4 Cylinders would do battle all over the track and when the checkered fell it was Carpenter leading the contingent over a charging Sam Dickle and James Hendershot with 2020 track champion Jeff Rankin and Josh Ayers rounding out the top five.

In the Mineral Wells Tire Center WRA Young Gun division presented by Mike’s Auto Body it was Logan Perine notching the first win of the season followed by Bryson Long and Cruz Thomas. A strong field of Veteran wedges hit the track for the first time in 2021 with Mack Brookover besting the competition to collect the checkered ahead of Aiden Powell and Keith Powell.

Be sure to join us next Friday Night, April 23rd as we play host to ‘Vapors in the Valley’! The high octane winged 410 Sprints of the OVSCA Sprint Series will kick off their 2021 season at the Valley. A can’t miss show as the winged warriors will test out the new surface in the first of five appearances. Also on the card will be the $700 to win SCDRA 4 Cylinder WV State Championship Qualifier event along with racing in all other classes. Gates open at 4pm, WRA at 6:30 and racing getting underway at 7pm.

Ohio Valley Speedway, April 16, 2021 Feature Results

Super Late Model Feature: Todd Brennan, Harold Redman, Tyler Evans, Tyler Stutler, Brandon Francis, Doug Parks, Tony Roush, Zach Hill, Pete Crum, George Klintworth, Chris Parks, Ryan Cline, Kyle Bond, RJ Harper, Ronnie Mayle, Chris Carpenter, Ed Shuman

UMP Modified Feature: Cruz Vandall, Coleman Evans, Kenny Johnson, Mitch Thomas, Booger Garnes, Tommy Powell, Leighton Wetzel, Jordan Ritchea, JP Roberts, Kyle Bond, TJ Roush, Pete Brunton, Jerry Herdman, DNS Casey Fritz

Pike Street Lanes Sportmod Feature: Cruz Vandall, Jayson Spaur, Miles Cook, Toby Wilson, Steven Dotson, Timothy Weekley, Brandon Davis, Montana Legg, Brayden Mattson, Larry Higgins, Brandon Lewis, Joe McClain, Ryan Yates, Austin Wilson, Tyler Harper, Pat Garrett, Scott Robinson, Jarrod Willis, DNS: Jesse Metz, Curtis Griffin, Keith Marlow, Sonny Leek, Nic Green, Roger Arix

Bill’s Auto Salvage SCDRA 4 Cylinder Feature: Justin Carpenter, Sam Dickle, James Hendershot, Jeff Rankin, Josh Ayers, Mike Tennet, Kasey Rankin, Jared McElroy, Ted Dille, Paul Midcap, Bryce Bowling, Marshall Boyles, Jarrod Heiss, Dan Moss, Brett Ball, DNS: Jacob McDaniel, James Piggott, Derrick Rose

Mineral Wells Tire Center WRA presented by Mike’s Auto Body Young Gun Feature: Logan Perine, Bryson Long, Cruz Thomas, Joey Miller, Walker Slayton, Ryder Parsons, Bentley Glover, Easton Mayle, Emlee Conrad, Farrah Bailey

Mineral Wells Tire Center WRA presented by Mike’s Auto Body Veteran Feature: Mack Brookover, Aiden Powell, Keith Powell, Isaac McLeish, James Bailey, Stephen Sutler, Tanner Ritchea, Avie Sprouse, Colin Knox

For more information regarding the Ohio Valley Speedway, event information, race results, points, fan information, photos and much more visit www.raceovs.com. In addition, fans can get social with Ohio Valley Speedway by clicking ‘Like’ at www.facebook.com/ohiovalleyspeedway. Give the speedway office a call at 304-771-5661 for questions or more information as well.

2021 Marketing Partners: Dave Poske Performance Parts, Octane Race Products, Hoosier Racing Tire, Mountaineer State Excavating, Las Trancas Mexican Restaurant, Briscoe Run Land Surveying, Pike Street Lanes, Adrenaline Performance, Mister Bee Potato Chips, Pepsi, Mike’s Auto Body, Bosley Rental & Supply, Rock Auto, Byrider, Bill’s Auto Salvage, The Train Gang, Duffy’s Designs

About OVS: Ohio Valley Speedway is a fast 3/8 mile dirt track located just south of Lubeck, WV on Rt. 68 south and Wadesville Road and races every Friday Night April thru September. Opened in 1958, and known by most as the ‘Valley’, the Mountain State gem has played host to some of the biggest names in open wheel and short track racing history over the years and parlays its quintessential paperclip configuration into terrific racing action nightly. While ushering in a new decade of short track excellence, the ‘Valley’ still maintains an aura of yesteryear and charm that come with six decades of motorsports history at one of West Virginia’s premier and stalwart short tracks.