homepage logo

First Timers Victorious at Bull Ring

By Staff | Aug 21, 2019

Greenwood's Derek Doll earned his first victory of the season and guaranteed himself a starting spot in the coveted Hillbilly 100.

A great crowd and pit full of race cars would take to America’s Baddest Bullring on Season Championship Night along with Hillbilly Qualifiers in each class. A night of first’s would be a popular theme as several first time winners would park in the ‘Bullring’ victory lane.

A thrilling J&R Excavating Super Late Model main event presented by Midcap Land and Timber would see newly crowned track champion Kyle Thomas of Pennsboro poised to collect another checkered flag. Greenwood, WV’s Derek Doll would have other ideas as the talented racer would hound Thomas for the races duration. With under five to go, Doll would point his XR-1 to the tracks topside and vault around Thomas for his first victory of the season and guarantee himself a starting spot in the coveted Hillbilly 100. Following Doll and Thomas across the line were Chuck Kimble, Brian Baumberger, and Steve Weigle. Special thanks to the IBR Race team of Travis Brown for the special 1×1 tribute car as a missing man formation was led prior to the feature out of respect for the late Ron Conley.

A first time winner in the Appalachian Mineral Title Company FASTRAK Late Model division would see Elkins, WV hotshoe Garrett Paugh grab the win. Following Paugh across the line was Kyle Thomas, Troy Frazier, Hayden Jacobs, and Brandon Weigle. Kyle Thomas would secure the 2019 FASTRAK Late Model track championship.

Continuing the theme of first, it was Powhatan Point, Ohio’s Gerald Deitch parking the familiar 43G in victory lane for the first time in several years over a solid field of UMP Modifieds. The likeable Ohio racer had been snake bit the last few years but the ‘G’ Man had it set on go Saturday as he would roll to the checkers ahead of a very impressive Cole Perine, Chad Smith, Cody Brightwell, and Doug Carson. Cody Brightwell would lay claim to his first ever Tyler County Speedway track championship in the UMP Modified division.

After fighting motor gremlins for the biggest part of the 2019 season, Travis Thomas of Alma has now went back to back aboard the familiar #18. Thomas would hold off cousin Danny Thomas who would vault from his 20th starting spot to finish runner-up with Steve Magyar, Jeff Gorrell, and Daniel Muldrew rounding out the top five. Danny Thomas would pick up the 2019 track championship, his second consecutive in the class.

Zak Kimbrew would pick also pick up his first win of the season in the Modlite main event over John Cogar, Shawn Kernan, Ryan Robey, and Jeremy Paden. Following his runner-up finish, Fairmont, WV racer John Cogar would secure the Modlite track championship.

In the Bullring Bomber division it was Jason Tidd picking up the win and the 2019 Track Championship. Following Tidd across the line was Donnie Wamsley, Brett Weekley, Dalton Goode, and Mike Todd.

The next generation of racers, the MWRA Mini Wedges would kick off the night with George Casto grabbing the win in the Senior division while brother Jake would best the Junior class. Picking up track championships would be Ryan Hare in the Senior division with Jake Casto claiming the Junior title.

No racing this coming Saturday as the ‘Bullring’ preps for the 51st Annual Hillbilly 100 weekend on Labor Day Weekend, Aug. 30 through Sept.1. A three day Mountain State tradition like no other will welcome the best racers in the country to Middlebourne, WV as the ‘Granddaddy’ of all Dirt Late Model Major events await. For tickets or more information, call 304-771-5661.

Saturday Night, Aug. 17 Feature Results:

J & R Excavating Super Late Model Feature Finish presented by Midcap Land and Timber – Derek Doll, Kyle Thomas, Chuck Kimble, Brian Baumberger, Steve Weigle, Robbie Bostic, Travis Brown, Andy Brown, Corey Galbreith, and Derek Stefanick.

Appalachian Mineral Title Company FASTRAK Late Model Feature Finish – Garrett Paugh, Kyle Thomas, Troy Frazier, Hayden Jacobs, Brandon Weigle, Ryan Payne, Garrett Jones, Trey Watson, Wylie Ford, Sparky Davidson, Tyler Riggs, Skip Hare, Kaitlyn Frazier, Cyle West, Tiffany Jackson, DNS Scott West, and Donnie Dotson.

UMP Modified Feature Finish – Gerald Deitch, Cole Perine, Chad Smith, Cody Brightwell, Doug Carson, Coleman Evans, Daniel Hill, Kyle Bond, Randy Bauknecht, Bob Moskey, Brock Moskey, Mike McPherson, Kurt Rogers, Tommy Powell, Justin Hart, Ryan Jones, Cody Henthorn, Dave Defibaugh, and Doug Crall.

Sigler Fabrication EDGE Hotmod Feature Finish presented by Poske Performance Parts – Travis Thomas, Danny Thomas, Steve Magyar, Jeff Gorrell, Daniel Muldrew, Brian Probst, Steven Dotson, Mick Baker, Casey Ash, Kevin Dotson, Crash Craddock, BJ Dennis, Joe Clutter, Josalyn Hibbard, Roland Fulmer, John Magyar, James Schnegg, Logan Reed, Michael Thomas, and Randall Masters.

Modlite Feature Finish – Zak Kimbrew, John Cogar, Shawn Kernan, Ryan Robey, Jeremy Paden, and DNS Daniel Eddy.

Bullring Bomber Feature Finish – Jason Tidd, Donnie Wamsley, Brett Weekley, Dalton Goode, Mike Todd, Timothy Harlan, Billy Pratt, and DNS Sierra Gutierrez.

Jenkins Auto Parts Senior Mini Wedge Feature Finish – George Casto, Ryan Hare, Allen Clark, Natalie Hibbard, and Ralen Arnold.

Jenkins Auto Parts Junior Mini Wedge Feature Finish – Jake Casto, Keith Powell, Carson Thomas, Wyatt Demoss, Remington Demoss, Jaxon Hart, and DNS Peyton Baker.