homepage logo

All Wetzel-Tyler Volleyball Team Set

By Staff | Nov 28, 2018


The first Wetzel-Tyler Newspapers Volleyball Team has been announced with Magnolia sophomore Mady Winters being named Player of the Year and MHS Head Coach Pam Chapman being named Coach of the Year.

Winters and teammate Kyndra Pilant were as good as it gets on the front line with their blocks and kills, but with Pilant winning the OVAC Class-AAA title and Tyler Consolidated’s Josey Jones winning LKC honors, Winters was a clear choice for the Wetzel-Tyler Newspapers Player of the Year.

Winters served up a team-high 259 points with a team-high 87 service aces, 446 kills, 257 digs and a team-high 148 blocks, while Coach Chapman was a clear winner for the coach’s title – winning not only the WVSSAC Class-A Championship, but bringing out the girls’ best in their Sectional and Regional championship games too.

First Team honors go to Mady Winters, Kendra Pilant, Kayna Anderson and Lenieca Grimm of Magnolia; Josey Jones, Alexa Johnson, Peyton Kocher and JoLee Walton of Tyler Consolidated; Hope Weber and Mallory Yeater of Paden City; Lauren Flannery and Macey Ladyga from River, and Caitlyn Underwood from Valley.

Second Team honors go to Katherine Henderson and Emily Metz from Hundred; Jenna Dallison and Elizabeth Conley of Valley; Abbe Stackpole and Cora Anderson of Paden City; Katie Straub, Cortny Sapp, Lacey Cordery and Allison Bennett from River; Regan Smith from Tyler Consolidated, and Liza Clegg from Magnolia.

Earning Honorable Mention include Candace Caldwell from River; Sydney Bucher and Megan Brown of Valley; Madison Fetty of Hundred; and Kennedy Parsons and Zoey Jenkins of Magnolia.