homepage logo

Neff and King Selected Player and Coach Of Year

By Staff | Nov 23, 2016

Aubrey Neff and Fred King

Paden City’s Aubrey Neff and Head Coach Fred King were chosen by the OVAC as the Player and Coach Of The Year in OVAC Class A.

Neff is the fifth Paden City player to win the Class A Player of the Year in the past 13 years. She is only a junior but has blossomed this season as the team’s main setter.

In 1,817 chances, she had 683 assists, with only nine ball-handling errors. She had 60 kills on 71 attacks, while serving up 480 points with a 96.7 percent service rating.

It’s King’s sixth in 13 seasons that he has won the Volleyball Coach Of The Year Award, but its the first one that all-school’s are thrown in to vote in the 12-school nominate and 52 OVAC school voting format.

Paden City finished the season with a 26-17 record and won both the Mason-Dixon Conference regular season and league Tournament. They also won the OVAC Class A regular season title and placed runner-up in the OVAC Tournament.

Coach King stated that Neff’s accomplishments “were well deserved and she worked very hard on her game during the off-season. She works very hard to be a setter and all her statistics showed that.”

“As a team, I would like to wish them good luck thank my three seniors for their four-year commitment to the sport, and I would like to challenge the rest of the team to continue to work hard and we can all do it again next season.”

Other earning accolades include Neff and Malayna Price of Paden City, and Miranda Gray of Hundred. In OVAC Class AA, Lauren Flannery of River was selected, while Kelsi Chapman and Taylor Ludewig of Magnolia, and Abbie Fletcher and Madison West of Tyler Consolidated were also honored.

There were many girls who could have been picked in the OVAC, but only three can be chosen by one school if they win it all, two if they made the playoffs and only one for each each from the other schools. The coaches can nominate, but they can’t vote for any of their people, while all the schools voted.