homepage logo

Magnolia Wins OVAC 3-A Wrestling Title

By Staff | Jan 20, 2016

Photos by Bruce Crawford The Magnolia Blue Eagles, OVAC Class 3A Team Champions

The Magnolia Blue Eagles came away with their first OVAC team and individual wrestling champion titles after competing in the 63rd Annual OVAC Ron Mauck Wrestling Championship Jan. 14-16 at the WesBanco Arena.

Along with the Assistant Coach Of The Year award being bestowed to MHS Assistant Coach Eric McKeever, the Eagles placed 12 overall, two spots better than last season.

Led by Terry Sands, the Eagles were the first team to hit WesBanco Arena;a floor for the opening ceremonies, while the Pilots were led out by long-time helper Jim Luikart.

Starting with the 106 lb. Weight Division, Marshall Higgins of the Blue Eagles had a bye. He then lost by a fall to Logan Robertson of Buckeye Local and to number two seed Abe Frizzell of Meadowbrook.

Up next was Kyler Cecil, who won by a fall to Brett Berberich of Beallsville before losing his second bout to Damien Emmert of Beaver Local, and then to Troy Scott of Cambridge.

In the 120 lb. Weight Division, Riley Nice worked himself up the ladder, beating Tyler Antonacci of Bridgeport by pin. He then won 6-4 over number four seed Quinton Bookman. Nice then won 7-5 over number five seed Parker Mazik of Indian Creek, before losing to number one seed Greg Quinn of Shadyside by a fall. Nice moved into the consolation bracket against number eighth seed for fifth place against Mikey Shamblin of Parkersburg South. He then couldn’t finish his bout and settled for sixth place.

The Eagles’ Jack Booth lost his first bout with Austin Love of John Marshall in the 126 lb. Weight Division. He then beat Elijah Martin of Meadowbrook, before bowing out against Mitch Wukelic of Indian Creek.

Doug Riter was next up winning his first match with Jarrod Yocum of John Marshall in the 132 lb. Weight Division, winning by a fall. He then faced number three seed Robert Bozek of Oak Glen, losing by a fall. He then lost a close 9-5 decision to JR Heavlin of Harrison Central.

Clay Adams lost his opening bout to Bailey Chaplin of Shadyside, by a fall. He then beat Bailey Eberhart of Harrison Central and Jerry Savage of Toronto before losing to Jacob Blystone by a 6-2 decision. In the seventh place match, Adams lost by a pin against Seth Cade of Edison.

Robert Campbell lost his two bouts to Blake Pickenpaugh of Caldwell and to Jeremiah Timberlake of Wheeling Park in the 145 lb. Weight Division.

Archie Petin was one win from placing. He lost his opener to Devin Crum of Union Local 6-2, but worked his way up the ladder, beating Jacob Todd of Madonna and Brady Blattner of Meadowbrook. He then lost 10-4 to Victor Glovengo of Linsly.

In the 160 lb. Weight Division, Joseph Layman won by a fall in his opening bout against Dustin Shramko of Southern Local before losing to third seed Billy Johnson and then to Perry Eldridge of Cambridge.

Number three seed Paden McConaughey of Magnolia opened up against the Pilots’ Tucker Boggs, winning by a technical fall. He then beat Mason Wiley of Caldwell before losing his first match this season by a 6-2 count against Adam Frisco of University.

McConaughey went on to defeat Jeremy Clawges of Morgantown before losing to Nathan Thomas of Indian Creek 10-4, sending him to the fifth place bout against Austin Allen of Shadyside, where he pinned him.

First year wrestler Brody Rush lost to Justin Starkey of Toronto and then to Preston Miller of Cambridge in the 182 lb. Weight Division.

Also new to the wrestling scene was Dalton Pritchard at 195 lbs. He lost his opener to Bradon Keys of Tyler Consolidated by technical fall, 21-6. However, he fought back to win Ethan Lively of River by fall and to Briar Meek of Edison Local, before losing to Joe Scudders of Cambridge.

In the 285 lb. Weight Division, Trenton Locklear lost to Logan Kranis of Oak Glen and to Jacob Kirby of Wellsville.

In the 220 lb. Weight Division, Caleb Nice ran the tables to be the first Blue Eagle wrestler to win the OVAC. He opened the OVAC against Hayden Hoge of Cambridge and Billy Haislet of Indian Creek, winning by falls. He then won 4-1 against Garret Wolfe of Parkersburg South and 6-5 against Isaiah Myers of Wheeling Park, before beating the undefeated Clay Poling of Caldwell, 6-2 in the championship.

For the Pilots, Aden Taylor opened things up winning his opening bout against Mike Doyle of Tyler Consolidated in the 138 lb. Weight Division, winning 8-5. He then upset the number three seed James Parsons of Wheeling Park by a fall before losing to number six seed Miles Mazik of Indian Creek by a pin fall. Taylor then missed out for placement when the Blue Eagles’ Clay Adams won 7-4.

At 145 lbs., Zac Talbott of River beat Chase Hickman of Barnesville by a fall but fell to the number one seed Kakotah Goff of Steubenville. He then lost to number eight seed Tyler Goode of John Marshall.

Tucker Boggs of the Pilots lost his opening match in the 170 lb. Weight Division to the Eagles’ number three seed Paden McConaughey by a technical fall. He then beat Monroe Central’s Brenden Wilson, before losing a heart breaker to Levi Phillips of Beallsville.

At 182 lbs., The Pilots Luke Matusik made quick work of Blake High of Cambridge and Zack Meade of Barnesville before losing his first match to number two seed Jus Ramage of Meadowbrook. Matusik then won 7-5 against Tyler Kelly of Beaver Local before losing his last two matches against Austin Mayfield of Edison Local and to Nick Valachovic in the seventh seed placement.

In 195 lb. Weight Division, the Pilots’ Ethan Lively lost his opener to number three seed Drew Lowery of Toronto, before losing by a fall to the Blue Eagles Dalton Pritchard.

Tyce Felton won his opening 220 lb. Weight Division bout against Josh Robinson of Shadyside before losing to number two seed Tanner Potts of Monroe Central and Joven Householder of Toronto.