homepage logo

Paliswat Wins OV?Match Play Bowling Finale, 258-183

By Staff | May 25, 2011

Justin Paliswat, the 2007-08 Match Play Runnerup, defeated Kevin Lude, 258-183, to win the 33rd Annual Ohio Valley Match Play Bowling Championship and pocketed the $1,000 top prize. Lude $500 for second place at Bruce Lanes May 21.

Paliswat also was the two-game high qualifier with games of 234 and 239 for a 473 total. Paliswat eliminated John Leek, 225-217, in one semi final, while Lude ousted Lloyd Cross, 226-185.

Leek and Cross each won $100 for third place. Brent Conaway, Ron O’Neil Jr., Lil Miller and Jim Agar were eliminated in the quarterfinals. Conaway won $100 and the Point List Championship that was sponsored by Buddy Light and Chuck Ludewig Insurance.

Other awards presented during the finale included the Arkle Costanzo Memorial Award that was presented to John Leek for competing in the most weekly events, 35. The Doris Westfall Performance Award went to Lil Miller for being the highest female on the point list at sixth place. The Chup Robinson Sportsmanship Award was presented to Mike Hall Sr., while the Kitty Brown Achievement Award went to Mason-Dixon Gaming and Dave Shriver for being the business and individual most involved in the success of the event.

The award next year will be named the Rick Doty Achievement Award in recognition of his 25 years of involvement in the match play event. The event has paid out more than $8,000 during the year, pushing the 33-year total to just under $293,000.

Paliswat became the 53rd bowler in the Bruce Lanes $1,000 Tournament Club. Plans are under way for the 34th annual event with tournament director Keith Craycraft thanking all of the events’ sponsors and bowlers.

A big thanks, also, to this year’s Ohio Valley Match Play sponsors Miller Lite, Buddy Light Accounting and Chuck Ludewig Insurance Agency.

For more information, check out www.brucelanes.com