homepage logo

Conaway Setting Records

By Staff | Apr 20, 2011

Brent Conaway is getting closer each week to breaking the record for wins (nine by Jeff Gunn) and most match play points in a season after winning for the eighth time with a 259-241 victory over Gary Isner April 14 at Bruce Lanes.

Conaway’s point total eclipsed 1,080 points, adjusted to 880 points, compared to 880 points to Bill DeVault’s record of 972.5. Champions receive 75 points this season compared to 50 points during DeVault’s record setting year.

Conaway was also the two-game high qualifier with games of 249 and 236 for a 485 total and won $75, compliments of weekly sponsor Wetzel Valley Sgencies.

Ron O’Neil Jr. follows Conaway in the point list with 810 points, while John Leek moves up a spot with 550 points. Sean Sawyers and Rich Erlewine round out the top five with 530 and 530 points, respectively.

Sponsors Miller Lite, Buddy Light Accounting and Chuck Ludewig Insurance Agencies guarantee the finale $1,000 top prize, with the top eight in the point list each receiving first-round byes. For further match play tournament information, check out www.brucelanes.com on the internet or call Bruce Lanes at 304-455-1551.

Bowlers have only four weeks left to qualify for the 33rd Annual Grand Finale, slated for May 21 at 5 p.m. at Bruce Lanes Bowling Alley, with the top 24 bowlers on the point list qualifing for the grand finale. The top eight will each earn a first-round bye. In addition, the past five grand champions bowling a minimum of seven events also earn a spot in the tournament.


Norris Pharmacy, led by Bill Longwell’s 723, won the team event with 3,365 handicap total in the 50th Annual New Martinsville Mens’ Bowling Tournament, with Terry Eddy, Hubert Morris, Robert Gatian and Rick Whollery teaming with Longwell.

The Brat Pack, led by Chuckie Fisherkeller, with the tourney record 820 pins won the scratch division of the team event with 3,204 pins along with Matt Erlewine, O’Neil, Bull Marling and Chet Richmond.

Richmond and O’Neil won the doubles handicap and scratch with 1,407 pins. Erlewine won the singles handicap and scratch division with 751, while Kenny Isner won the singles division handicap and scratch events with 721 handicap and 623 actual. Fisherkeller won both the handicap and scratch all-events with 2,066 pins.

The tournament paid out approximently $2,500 in prize money, while All Champions (handicap divisions) received tournament jackets compliments of Mensore Distributing and Yuengling Lager.

The Mens Bowling Assosiation also inducted 20th Annual Hall of Fame members Don “Butch” Crawford, Ed McDougal, John Miller and Bruce Sivert.

The Annual Banquet was held Saturday, April 16 at Quinet’s Court Restraunt with association manager Jim Longwell acting as master of ceremonies.


Bowlerettes: Sandy Dietrich, 232, 204, 613; Tuesday Women: Jean Ann Morris, 207; Tuesday Men: Gary Isner, 235; Arold Isner, 215, 212, 601; Jim Longwell, 204, 226, 613; Al Spencer, 200; Terry Eddy, 202; Hubert Morris, 223; Rick Whoolery, 246; Bill Longwell, 204, 212, 255, 671; Jim Brown, 202; Bryce Bohrer, 213, 268, 658; Dave Hull, 226; Barry Light, 222, 235, 208, 665; Jerry Cremeans, 200; Mike Aarick, 200; and Dave Farley, 215, 224, 610;

Industrial: Duane Goddard, 223; Jim Longwell, 237, 233, 238, 708; Dud Snider, 225; Terry Whitfield, 220; Roger Blizzard, 214; Jim Brown, 215; Ron O’Neil Jr. 254, 253, 254, 761; Doug Bohrer, 211; Rick Truex, 234; Chet Richmond, 297, 267, 245, 809; Terry Craig, 224; Brian Harrigan, 242; Dave Eichorn, 200; Joe Goddard, 205; Rick Williams, 203; Gus Dennis, 223; Ron Rush, 222; Dave Hull, 259, 642; Sean Sawyers, 234; Bill Longwell, 228, 235, 657; Mike Hafer, 220, 240, 621; Brent Conaway, 200, 247, 640; Matt Erlewine, 244; Ken Jones, 226; Kenny Isner, 246; and Clay Cecil, 204;