homepage logo

Jimmy Stinson Shatters Track Record At TC Speedway

By Staff | Jun 23, 2010

In its inaugural season, the Ohio Valley Sprint Car Association made its first appearance at Tyler County Speedway June 19. Jimmy Stinson tripped the clock as the quickest with a record breaking time of 10.78 seconds. That translates to about 83.5 mph.

Andre Layfield and Jason Dolick collected prelim honors. When the field roared to life, Layfield jumped to the point followed by Dolick, Stinson, Dave Dickson and Aaron Higgins. Layfield continued to show the way, but Dolick began to apply pressure and pulled even on lap seven. Dolick used a lapped car as a pick on lap nine to snag the lead away from Layfield.

Stinson also began to work on Layfield for second when on lap 12 Layfield slowed in turn three with a flat right front tire. Dolick, Stinson, Higgins, Dickson and Greg Mitchell were now the top five. Stinson moved to the high groove and reeled in Dolick. On lap 15, Stinson motored to the front with Dolick in tow. Mitchell brought out the yellow on lap 25 with front end damage on the backchute. Stinson was able to hold off Dolick for the win. Kory Crabtree crossed in third from his eighth starting spot. Charlie Fisher climbed from ninth to fourth and Dickson rounded out the top five.

In the FASTRAK finale, Kyle Thomas withstood five yellow flags, and a pack of hungry wolves nipping at his tail to capture his second trip to victory lane. Daniel Hill chased Thomas the entire distance, but had to settle for second. Shawn Jett crossed in third, Danny Thomas was fourth. Steve Weigle, driving Michael Griffin’s #11 finished fifth.

After three tries at green, the AMRA Modifieds finally got a lap in. Pole setter Shawn Davis drove off and hid from the rest of the field. Davis cruised to his first win of the season. Brian Probst came across the stripe in second. Darren Glover, driving Steve Higgins’ #7H finished third. Del Cunningham and Derek Smith filled out the top five.

Bill Sigmon took the white flag in the Sigler Fabrication Hot Mods, but got loose entering turn one and let Travis Thomas zip by for the lead and eventual win. Sigmon had to settle for second. Devin Verardi was third, Luke Fairburn finished fourth. Fifth went top Mike Lauer.

It was the Thomas’ show in the WXCR 92.3 Pure Stocks. Danny Thomas driving Jeff Fornash’s #99 and Brad Thomas occupied the front row. The duo raced door to door for most of the 15 lapper and never touched. Brad edged Danny at the stripe for the win. Chris Ice was poised for a mistake from the front two but didn’t get the chance, as he finished third. Levi Flesher finished fourth and Al Wagner filled out the top five.

Father and Son started on the front row of the Mod Lites with Dad Lynn Knepper on the inside and Alan on the outside. Lynn led the entire distance, almost. On the final circuit, Alan used a slide job for the lead and win. Lynn finished second. Brandon Fluharty, Josh Baldwin, and Brent Irvin were third through fifth.

Champion Sports Cards and Trophies Junkyard Warriors had a first-time winner park in victory lane. Alex Mosser held off the rabid field to score his first win. Donnie Wamsley trailed Mosser across the line. Derek Thompson, Justin Freeland, Andrea Hatfield were third through fifth.

Ryan Watson held off Alec Frazier and Kaitlyn Frazier to collect his fifth Bridgeport Equipment and Tool Mini Wedge feature. Jordan Doty and Shayle Griffey were fourth and fifth.

This weekend at the Bullring will be regular racing in all classes, with an $8 general admission price tag. Coming in two weeks will be the Ufo series lands for the $5,000 to win the Earl Hill Memorial for Late Models.