homepage logo

OVAC All-Academic Team Announced

By Staff | Aug 12, 2009

The Ohio Valley Athletic Conference has named its All-Academic Team for the 2008-09 school year. This year, 1,354 student athletes were named to the team, including the following local students:

Magnolia High School:

Emily Amos, Courtney Babe, Jordan Babe, Jared Blatt, Nick Blatt, Hannah Boughner, Maryam Boumezrag, Maddie Bridgeman, Chase Cain, Lindsay Deiffenbauch, Luke Dieffenbauch, Bill Feeney, Joe Feeney, Mitchell Goodwin, Ethan Graham, Anna Haught, Landon Herrick, Evan Heslep, Alec Hinerman, Rachel Hoffpauir, Abbey Horner, Andy Huggins, Michael Jones, Brendan Kacor, Carson Kelly, Bentley Knight, Andrea Lockhart, Jason Long, Dallas Mullett, Emily Patterson, Rebecca Patterson, Nicole Schoolcraft, Caleb Seckman, Dillon Simmons, Drew Simmons, Aly Smith, Noah Taylor, and Ashley Villers.

Paden City High School:

Bethany Arnett, Allison Bertozzi, Lea Ann Butcher, Courtney Conaway, Wes Cosper, Dominique Craft, Shauna Durant, Kaitlyn Kline, Christopher Loy, Erica Sapp, Amanda Sellers, Johnanna Simon, Taylor Still, Alexander Thoburn, Kara Wilcox, and Victoria Yurisko.

River High School:

Kylie Brown, Samantha Knowlton, Kelsey Krempasky, Chelsea Lowe, Kelsey McGuire, Flint Postle, Brandon Price, Jordan Ramsay, Renae Riley, Cheyenne Romick, and Erika Williams.

Valley High School:

Scott Anderson, Katie Barker, Candace Cecil, Lesta Kocher, Ava Morris, Leah Morris, Brady Nolan, Breanna Nolan, Heather Quinn, Holli Schell, Hannah Shaw, Cassie Ueltschy, Coleman Ueltschy, Garrett Ueltschy, Sara Wells, Tristin Willey, and Rachel Wyatt.

Tyler Consolidated High School:

Hayley Acree, Austin Carpenter, Lynsey Casteel, Jaclyn Clark, William Dawson, William Eastham, Aaron Estep, Dirk Fletcher, Patrick Foley, Rheanna Foley, Ethan Garrison, Isaac Graham, Cullen Grover, Mallory Hammond, Mackenzie Haught, Travis Hoyes, Christy Jones, James Jones, Boone Kehrer, Brice Kehrer, Samantha Kemp, Lauren Kennedy, Spencer Kinnard, Garrett Kissner, Jared Lantz, Jacob Lash, Dorman Lemasters, Tyler Lemasters, Cory Lowe, Heather Lynch, Emily Moore, Montana Morris, Michael Northcraft, Rachael Patterson, Jonathan Perkey, Ashley Pfohl, Curtis Romine, Madeline Schlabowski, Kaitlyn Smith, Leeann Smith, Dustin Snider, Hannah Spencer, Heather Suter, Keri Suter, DavidWable, Nathan Weese, Tara Weese, Chelsea Wells, Emily Wells, Emily Wildman, and Nathaniel Zills.


All schools were asked to submit the names of any student/athletes who fit the following criteria:

*Be in grades nine through 12

*Earned a 3.8 or higher on a 4.0 scale for the 2008-09 school year

*Participated in at least one varsity sport.

They did not have to letter, but they must have participated for the season.

Certificates were presented by Ohio University Eastern Dean Dr. Richard Greenlee, and athletic director E. J. Schodzinski to the athletic directors at their mandatory meeting on Aug. 5 at WesBanco Arena.

Forty of the 46 OVAC schools took advantage of the opportunity to submit nominees. Schools not responding were: Conotton Valley, Frontier, Parkersburg South, Steubenville Catholic, Weirton Madonna, and Wellsville. This year, 1,454 student/athletes received this certificate.

Ohio University Eastern sponsors this program, which is now in its seventh year. Students who choose to attend OUE receive a scholarship that pays one-half of their tuition. This is renewable for their sophomore year as long as their grades are maintained.