homepage logo

Tyler Speedway

By Staff | Jun 24, 2009

Eddie Carrier Jr. again made his presence known at Tyler County Speedway June 20, becoming the second repeat winner on the O’Reilly All Star Late Model Series tour in 2009. Carrier used a fast but steady line to get by early race leader Mike Benedum on lap 14.

Doug Eaton and Mike Benedum led the talented crop of 24 drivers to the green, with Benedum grabbing the early lead from his outside starting spot. The pace was slowed for an early red flag as Mark Banal took a terrible ride down the front straightaway, barrel rolling to a halt, just feet from the entrance to turn one.

Banal was later disqualified for his antics after the accident and will be suspended from the Late Model Series competition indefinitely. Also involved in the violent accident was Greg Baumberger and Butch McGill.

When the green flag reappeared, Benedum continued to lead as Carrier began to put the pressure on, taking the lead in lap 14 to begin his charge to the front.

Jared Miley, who started sixth, was barreling down on Benedum for second as Coleby Frye made a charge to the front using the low line of the Bullring. Jared Hawkins also made his way to the top five from his ninth starting spot.

On lap 28, Miley and Hawkins battled side-by-side for the second spot for numerous laps as Benedum started to fade. Carrier began to run into a plethora of lapped cars to let what has now become a three car battle, including Miley, Hawkins, and Frye, for second close in.

The three youngsters swapped positions every lap and as Frye made his way under Hawkins for second. Just as Carrier fought off Frye’s challenge, the second caution of the event appeared speedway regular Joe Loudin spun on lap 42.

The remaining eight laps were all Carrier as he went on to win his second ASLMS event of the season and claiming the EatonChilders Memorial King of the Ring trophy and a $5,000 payday. Holding on to second was Frye, followed by Miley in third. Doug Horton slipped into fourth with Hawkins coming home fifth. Robbie Blair was sixth. as ASLMS points leader Boom Briggs came home seventh. Tim Dohm, Mike Benedum and Paul Wilmouth rounded out the top ten finishers.

Thomas, Conger and Spinneweber also score wins- with Saturday’s addition of three season first winners. Tyler County Speedway boasts a whopping 45 different feature winners, making ‘the Bullring’ one of the most competitive tracks in the nation.

Shawn Davis has had little but frustration to show for his efforts prior to Saturday night’s TSMA modified feature.

Davis took the initial lead of the 20 lap main, closely tailed by last week’s winner, Brian Probst.

Mike Wilson shot past Probst on the second circuit, and quickly began to pressure Davis. By lap six, Probst was joined by Mark Dickson. Wilson looked constantly for an opening that never materialized as he, simultaneously, turned back Dickson’s efforts. This action allowed Davis a little breathing room, as he became the eighth different TSMA modified feature winner of the season, crossing the finish line with a seven car length advantage. Wilson, Dickson, Probst and Del Cunningham completed the top five finishers. Davis and Probst took heat race wins.

Former national quad champion Shane Hitt’s 2009 season had thus far mirrored Davis’, but he also found victory lane for the first time with his win in the Late Model main. Hitt was immediately challenged by Kyle Thomas, but was up to the challenge and led all 20 circuits to cross the finish line ahead of the hard charging Thomas. Fifth starting Joel Prosser, seventh starting Gary Knollinger Jr and Dusty Hamrick completed the top five finishers, with Hitt and Hamrick scoring prelim wins.

The Hot Mod feature was a dandy, with front row starters Greg Conger and Luke Fairburn grappling for the lead from the get-go. Fairburn took the initial lead, found Conger taking a turn at the front on the third circuit, only to see Fairburn go back to the point a pair of circuits later.

Conger finally wrestled the lead from Fairburn and Dickson bagged Fairburn for second with three circuits remaining. Dickson could come no closer than a car length, as Conger took a hard-earned second feature win of the season. Dickson, Fairburn, Kenny Isner and Rod Nething followed Conger to the stripe. Conger and Fairburn were the heat race winners.

Danny Thomas also tallied his second feature win of the season, leading all 15 trips around the quarter mile high banks. His win was no “walk in the park,” as Brian Shaffer challenged for the position at every turn. Thomas was not to be denied in this one, despite the equally determined driving exhibited by Shaffer.

A scant car length separated the two, as Thomas led Shaffer, Kevin Dotson, Jeff Fornash and Brad Thomas to the pay window. Shaffer and Mike Mason were the heat winners.

Levi Spinneweber had to fight his way past early leader Mitch Herrick to take his second feature win of the season in the Mod-Lite division. By the race’s mid-point, defending track champion Jacob Lash had blasted from the final starting position to trail Spinneweber, However, his charge stalled at that point and “Spiderman” threw a web around the checkered flag. The Keystone State driver’s #10 was trailed by Lash, Herrick, Bartlett and last week’s winner Fluharty. Herrick and Spinneweber were the heat race winners.

Donnie Wamsley took his second Junkyard Warrior feature of the year, trailed by Anthony Lopez, Daryll Highley, Josh Golden and Ivan Wamsley. Steven West bested a huge field of carts in the MWRA Mini-Wedge main event.