homepage logo

Pilots Win OVAC Class AA Cheerleading Crown

By Staff | Feb 12, 2009

The 18th Annual OVAC Cheerleading Competition is over and area teams River took first place Magnolia took second in the Class AA and Class AAA, respectively.

More than 400 cheerleaders from 35 schools competed for four different titles, with the Lady Pilots edging out defending champion Monroe Central and Wheeling Central in Class AA, while St. Clairsville just edged the Lady Eagles in Class AAA.

The Lady Pilot cheerleaders executed a marvelous dance routine and gave a delightful cheer that had the entire crowd at WesBanco take notice.

Magnolia cheerleaders were up against some great teams and they turned in what many thought was one of their very best performances ever at the OVAC Championships, finishing runnerup again to the Lady Devils of St. Clairsville.

Magnolia won the Region One crown earlier this season where they executed an exceptional performance with a near-flawless routine.

Competing for MHS in the championships were: Emily Amos, Rebecca Blair, Maddie Bridgeman, Morgan Dawson, Holly McDonald, Rebecca Patterson, Emily Patterson, Aly Smith, Courtney Smith, Mitchell Snyder, Shana Street, Ashton Urbanek, Makenzie Walker, and Ashtin Zajdowicz.

Competing for RHS in the championships were: Brookie Albright, Kylie Brown, Stephanie Brown, Chacity Craig, Brittany Curtis, Kelsey Krempasky, Chelsea Lowe, Landyn Lucas, Felicia McCullough, Kelsey McGuire, Morgan Meyer, Renae Riley, Kristy Smith, and Rachel Stewart. Rivers cheering coach is Angie McDonald.

The Paden City Lady Wildcats and the Valley High School Lumberjills cheerleading squads also did very well at the OVAC championships.

Representing PCHS were Megan Barker, Tiffany Blatt, Dominique Craft, Katie Kline, Megan Leasure, Taylor Parsons, Erica Sapp, Amanda Tallman, Stephanie West and Kara Wilcox. Coaches for the Lady ‘Cats are Tonya Schupbach and Rachel Stoneking.

Cheering for Valley were Victoria Arnolds, Katie Barker, Jill Barr, Tjuanna Bassett, Taylor Highley, Jessica Loy, Tessa Morgan, Jade Starkey, Kassie Stout, Laci Underwood, Sara Wells, and Tristin Willey, under the mentoring of coach Debbie Kocher.