homepage logo

Baker Picks Up Tribute Win

By Staff | May 21, 2014

A frigidly cool Saturday evening would see near 150 racers head to the ‘Bullring’ looking for a place to race and the Hometown Racing Association would welcome all. A jam packed pit area that seen 20 J&R Excavating Super Late Models, 21 Peoples Bank FASTRAK Late Models, 24 Two Brothers Motorsports, 20 Modlites, 26 Hotmods, 12 4 Cylinders, and 23 JJK Mineral MWRA Mini Wedges take to the ‘bullring’. Picking up guaranteed starting spots in next week’s mega third annual Jackpot 100 was Butch McGill, Cody Parker, Derek Rogers, Mitch Ward, Mick Baker, Donnie Wamsley, and Zack Carr.

Kicking off the night, it was the eighth annual Tammy Clegg Tribute for Hotmods and it was Middlebourne’s Mick Baker aboard the orange #47 Swiger Oil & Gas/ Doug’s Custom Vinyl/ Autozone sponsored chariot picking up his first win of the season. Baker would blast to the lead from this front row starting spot and go unchallenged as he bested previously unbeaten Chad Smith across the line. Rounding out the top five were first time visitor John Powell Jr, Kenny Isner, and Darren Glover.

It was the “Doddridge County Terror” Butch McGill passing early leader Paul Wilmoth to lay claim to his second J&R Excavating Super Late Model division presented by Midcap Land & Timber of the season. Rounding out the top five behind McGill was a fast-closing Mike Benedum, Wilmoth, Corey Conley, and Derek Doll.

Derek Rogers of Spelter, W.Va., driving the Rogers Bros. Racing/ Bee Fit Distributors/ Amos Paving/ Warpaint Graphics would pick up his first win of the season in the Peoples Bank FASTRAK division. Rogers would hold off Kyle Thomas, Danny Thomas, Shawn Jett, and Brandon McGrady in the competitor FASTRAK division.

Mitch Ward grabbed the win in the Modlite division piloting the familiar #862. Ward pilots the Throw n’ Dirt/Ward Welding and Fabrication, Hitt Enterprises/ Hardrock machine and bested Brandon Fluharty, Jeff Fornash, Jim Ruckman, and Gabe Phillips.

“Cowboy” Cody Parker of Zanesville, Ohio, grabbed the win in the Two Brothers Motorsports Modified division. Early leader Rich Michael of Ischua, N.Y., would seem poised to pick up his first Tyler County Speedway win when a flat tire would sideline the early leader. Parker would then take command and punch his ticket into next weeks “Let it Ride 55” by grabbing his first “bullring” win. A stout field following Parker was Jess Hartman, Travis Dickson, Bird Wilson, and Nick Corbitt.

It was Clarksburg, W.Va.’s Donnie Wamsley picking up the win in the growing 4 Cylinder feature event. Wamsley led John Sinnett, Dusty Wamsley, Scott Critchfield, and Mike Frazier across the stripe.

A strong field of 23 JJK Minerals MWRA Mini Wedges would tackle the highbanks of the “‘bullring” and it was Zack Carr besting Jacob Ice, Dalton Anderson, Kylie Cross, and Steve Frazier.

Join next weekend from Friday-Sunday for the third annual Jackpot 100 weekend featuring the $20,000 to win World of Outlaw Late Models and three days of Renegades of Dirt Modified action and the $5,555 to win Let it Ride 55. Plus racing in all classes. For more information visit www.tylercountyspeedwayonline.com.