homepage logo

Area Players Earn Accolades

By Staff | Mar 27, 2013

Mark Winters

The 2013 West Virginia Class-A boys’ and girls’ All State Basketball honors were released last week and several area players earned recognition into this elite group.

Earning first team selection for the boys was the Blue Eagle all-time scoring leader Mark Winters. This 6’6” forward led the state with a 29 point game average, while pulling down 12 rebounds a game.

During the season, Winters helped guide the Eagles to 21 wins in 25 games and to an OVAC Class-3A crown. For his efforts Winters was selected as captain of the first team.

Senior teammate Stephen Rogalski and junior center Zach Wilhoite both earned accolades as honorable mention selections.

Rogalski could do it all. He was a very good defender and outside shooter, averaging 11 points per game and pulling down his share of the boards while leading MHS in steals.

Mallory Chapman

Wilhoite was the mainstay in the paint along with Winters. He led the Eagles in blocked shots and was near double-digits as well in rebounds. His 13 PPG average was second on the team. His presence inside left teams wanting to shoot outside rather than risking going inside and face the two-headed giants, Wilhoite and Winters.

Besides these three players, Paden City’s sophomore Kennedy Cain was selected as an honorable mention pick. Cain led the Wildcats in scoring with 16 points a game.

He also hauled in 171 rebounds during the season, with 70 of them coming off the offensive glass.

Dylan Romine of Tyler Consolidated also earned recognition as honorable mention.

On the girls’ side, the Magnolia’s Mallory Chapman earned second team honors.

Brett Price

Chapman broke Magnolia’s single-game scoring record with 43 points in a win over Paden City. It was her second straight year as an all-state selection.

Chapman finished the season with 444 points for a 18.5 PPG average and 10.1 rebounds per game. She helped the Eagles make it to the Region I Co-finals against St. Marys, who finished second in the state tournament.

Other area players earning a spot on all-state Class-A include Lady Eagle Grace Berisford; Myah Charkawi and Logan Cosper from Paden City; and Katie Tennant from Hundred.

Torrye Cline and Sydney Reed of Tyler Consolidated also earned honorable mention.

In addition, the Lady Silver Knights’ Sophia Kinnard earned the honor as captain of the third team all state.

There were many more capable area players not selected to all state, including the Eagles’ point guard Preston Boswell, Paden City’s Zach Heasley, Valley’s Triston Kocher, and the Hundred Hornet scoring machine Rusty Morris.

‘Although Morris only played 11 games, he still scored 265 points, while earning the only triple-double of the season – 27 points, 12 rebounds and 10 blocked shots in a loss to Tyler Consolidated.

However, the selections had a timetable. And, at the time, Morris didn’t have enough games to warrant recognition in either the state or OVAC.

In the OVAC, Winters and Wilhoite of MHS and Brett Price from River were selected on the first team OVAC Class-3A. Price was a scoring machine for the Pilots, posting a 20 point per game average and making several game-deciding shots, including two in victories over Magnolia.

Rogalski was the only area player selected on the second team, while Boswell from Magnolia, Romine and Darren Heintzman from Tyler Consolidated, and Cody Caldwell from River also earned honorable mention.

In WVSSAC Class-A, Paden City’s Cain and Heasley were selected for second team honors, while Valley’s Kocher, Jack Wells, and Tyler Hayes each were put on the honorable mention list.

In girls OVAC Class-3A, Chapman of Magnolia and Kinnard of Tyler Consolidated were both named to the first team, while the Lady Pilots’ Jensen Caretti and Cassidy McCullough were chosen second team. Grace Berisford of Magnolia, Laken Ramsay of River, and Torrye Cline and Cydney Reed of Tyler Consolidated each made honorable mention.

In OVAC Class-A, Katie Tennant from Hundred was the only area player to make first team, while the Lady ‘Cats’ Myah Charkawi was selected as honorable mention.

In Ohio Division IV, Brett Price of River was the only area player selected as a third-team honoree.


In the Mason Dixon Conference, Kennedy Cain of Paden City, Kirk Shriver from Hundred, and Valley’s Triston Kocher have been named to the boys’ first team.

Second team players are Paden City’s Zach Heasley, Lumberjack Jack Wells, and Chris Varner and Rusty Morris, both of Hundred.

Conference honorable mentions for the season went to Tyler Hayes of Valley, Wildcats Drew Bidwell and Luke Cooper, and Andrew King of Hundred.

On the MDC girls’ all-star team are Sarah Bassett of Valley High School, Lady Hornet Katie Tennant, and Myah Charkawi of Paden City. Second team honors went to Paden City’s Logan Cosper, Lumberjills Alisha Carter and Karissa Headley, and Hundred’s Oshana Topp and Emily Ebert.

Third team honors went to Lindsay Jones of Hundred and Lady Wildcats Taylor Cosper and Cydney Blatt.