homepage logo

Pilots Claim OVAC?Class-3A And Home Invitational Titles

By Staff | Jan 31, 2013

Pictured are the Pilots of River High School, Class-3A Champions in the 2013 OVAC-Ron Mauck wrestling competition. In the front row, from left, are Rachael Hutchison, Hank Goble, Chase Schultheis, Loren Thomas, Bailey Reusser, Josh Stewart, Luke Gillies, Chase Young and Katie Ritchie. Middle row, RHS Principal Vince Monseau, Eric Rosen, Brandon Reusser, Noah Porter, Devin Talbot, Brett Rosen, Dakota Dunn, Jordan Sapp, Freddie Mundt, Head Coach John Talbot and Assistant Coach Chuck Baker. Back row, Paden Stewart, Kole Smith, J. D. Dotson, Matt and Aaron Ingram.

Steubenville High School defeated Parkersburg South by a close 241.5-238 score in the 60th Ron Mauck-OVAC Wrestling Championship Jan. 24-26, ending South’s three-year championship reign over the event.

The River Pilots won the OVAC Class-3A title and the Bob Sadler Sportsmanship Award, while Shadyside took home the bacon in the Class-AA-A. Steubenville claimed the Class-4A crown and Parkersburg South won the Class 4-A title.

Magnolia’s Jared Wright placed sixth in the 182 lb. division, securing two out of three matches by pinfalls before he was himself pinned by the number two seed Brandon Jones of Steubenville. It was the first time Magnolia placed in the event since 1988.

After the loss, Wright claimed a 7-2 decision over the Pilots’ Dakota Dunn and then defeated Matthew Dixon of Parkersburg South by a pin in the semifinals.

In the finals for place, Wright lost by points in a heart-breaker to Mitchell Wells of Edison Local and lost 2-3 to Skippy Scurry to take sixth place.

Magnolia’s 285 pounder Alex Newman upset Tyler Consolidated’s sixth-seeded Austin Spencer with a 7-2 decision before pinning Robby Kalinowski of Bellaire. Newman was on the verge of moving on to the placement round against the number two seed and eventual winner, Corey Ernest of St. Clairsville, before breaking his ankle and being pinned for the loss.

MHS grapplers Doug Riter (113 lbs.), Gage Deem (152 lbs.), and Garrett Woofter (160 lbs.) each recorded wins in the OVAC Tournament, while Joseph Layman, J.T. Stillwagner, Harley Price, Paden McConaughey, Jacob Rabel, and Tyler Baker also competed for the Blue Eagles.


River’s Chase Schultheis (113 lbs) started the Pilots off on the right foot, pinning Seth Anderson of Union Local before losing his second bout to the eventual 113 pound champion, Lance Hill from Parkersburg South. Schultheis then lost to Michael Max of Buckeye Local.

Josh Stewart won his first bout by a fall in overtime to Trevor Neavin of Martins Ferry, but lost his next two matches.

Pilots Luke Gillies (126 lbs.), Chase Young (132 lbs.), Freddie Mundt, (152 lbs.) and Hank Goble (285 lbs.) each lost both their first two bouts. Fellow Pilot Bailey Reusser (138 lbs.) lost his opener but later defeated Dakota Starr of Buckeye Local. Reusser dropped his third match to Logan Hickenbottom of Morgantown.

Jordan Sapp (145 lbs.) won his first two matches on falls and points before bowing out with losses to Johnny Davis of Wheeling Park and Kevin Scrudders of Cambridge.

Brandon Reusser (160 lbs.) won his opening bout, then lost his second match. He would then win by a fall over Josh Schnegg of Barnesville, before leaving the tournament with a loss to University’s Nate Constante.

Dakota Dunn (182 lbs.) had a bye in his opener, then lost to Skippy Scurry of Buckeye Local. He went on to win by a technical fall, 19 to 3, over Tyler Kelly of Beaver Local. However, Dunn dropped his final match to Jared Wright of Magnolia.

Kole Smith (170 lbs.) lost a 6 to 1 decision to Myliek Green of Beallsville, then received a bye before winning an 18 to 14 major decision over Adam Harless of Wellsburg. Smith then won by a fall over Beallsville’s Mark Shaffer, but lost his final match.

Brett Rosen (195 lbs.) won his first match by pinning his opponent in 52 seconds, then won an 11 to 9 decision over Jacob Haynes of Toronto. He suffered his first loss of the tournament in a 18-7 decision to the number one seed, Nathan Dawson of University. However, Rosen won his next two bouts before losing to John Miscuk in the fifth place championship bout.

Joseph Dotson (220 lbs.) won his first two matches in less than a minute before losing a 3 to 1 heart-breaker to Zac Coole of Martins Ferry. Dotson would then take out Noah Mills of Oak Glen by a fall and then won 8-3 over a Linsly opponent.

Dotson then lost another heart-breaker to number two seed Seth Bier of Wellsburg by a 6 to 5 count. However, he responded in the fifth place championship matchup with a 7 to 2 victory over Michael Furbee of St. Clairsville.

River Invitational

The River Pilot Wrestling Team picked up where it left off after winning the OVAC Class 3-A title, running away with River’s own eight-team invitational Jan. 26.

The Pilots tallied 160 points, while Magnolia finished sixth with 45 points and Tyler Consolidated took the eighth spot with 33 points.,

River’s Dakota Dunn (182 lbs.) and Joseph Dotson (220 lbs.) won their respective weight classes, while Josh Stewart (120 lbs.), Bailey Reusser (138 lbs.), Jordan Sapp (145 lbs.), Freddie Mundt (152 lbs.), Kole Smith (160 lbs.), Brandon Reusser (170 lbs.) and Brett Rosen (195 lbs.) all finished second. Chase Schultheis (113 lbs.) placed third to lead the River Pilots.

Winning for Magnolia in their respective weight classes were Doug Riter (113 lbs), Harley Price (138 lbs), Paden McConaughey (145 lbs.) and Jacob Rabel (195 lbs.), while Brian Wilson (220 lbs.) and Phillip Harlan (185 lbs.) each placed fourth.

Tyler Consolidated’s Austin Spencer (285 lbs.) took the championship in the heavyweight division.