homepage logo

Hall Wins Final Weekly Qualifier

By Staff | May 16, 2012

Mike Hall Sr. won the final weekly qualifier with a 212-175 victory over Chuck Fischerkeller III, winning him $75 from weekly sponsor Mitchell Bowlers Mart of Akron, Ohio. It was Hall’s second win of the year.

Chet Richmond was the two-game high qualifier, with games of 239 and 258 for a 497 total. Hall eliminated Al Spencer 225-222 in one semifinal and Fischerkeller defeated Dave Johnson 255-192 in the other semi.

Richmond won the Points List title and $100 with 900 points, while Fischerkeller (855), Johnson (765), Sean Johnson (695), John Leek Jr. (650) rounded out the top five bowlers.

The highest 24 on the Point List qualify for the 34th Annual Grand Finale, where tournament sponsors Miller Lite and Buddy Light Accounting guarantee the $1,000 championship prize. The top eight on the Point List earn a first-round bye to the match play segment of the event.

The tournament field consists of Chet Richmond, Chuck Fischerkeller, Dave Johnson, Sean Johnson, Ron O’Neil Jr., Mike Hall Sr., Gary Isner, Cody Cline, John Miller, Kevin Lude, Annette Johnson, Brent Conaway, Pat Fischerkeller, Al Spencer, Katie Fischerkeller, Dud Snider, Bull Marling, Justin Paliswat, Jeff Germann, Steve Nixon Sr., Joe Sherer, and Travis Southall.

The match play, each year, recognizes the bowlers’ achievements of the past year with awards. Richmond won the Point List Award, sponsored by Buddy Light Accounting. Lil Miller was recognized with the Doris Westfall Memorial Award by being the highest ranked woman on the list with a tie for fifth place.

Leek won the Arkle Costanzo award by bowling the most weekly events, 34, and also the Chup Robinson Sportsmanship Award.

This year’s event pushed the total prize money awarded to more than $301,000 with more than 36,000 bowlers competing to win the much-coveted Match Play Championship. The tournament also had two additional 300 game rollers – a total of 29 – with Chuck Fischerkeller and Jeff Germann accomplishing the feat.

The Grand Finale is set for 6 p.m., Saturday, May 19, at Bruce Lanes in New Martinsville. For more information, log on to the website www.brucelanes.com.