homepage logo

Wetzel County Commission Meet for Regular Session

By Rick Loy - Staff Writer | Sep 8, 2021

The Wetzel County Commissioners met in a regularly scheduled meeting August 31, 2021, at the Commission office to discuss the agenda. Commission President Lisa Heasley called the meeting to order after she led in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Sheriff Michael Koontz and Chief Deputy Rob Hayes were present to request funding for two new vehicles for the Sheriff’s Department. Sheriff Koontz said, because it takes so long to get the vehicles, I thought we would get the ball rolling early for the new vehicles for 2022. He went on to say that Whiteside’s of St. Clairsville, OH offered the two new 2022 vehicles at the same price as 2021 models. Koontz asked the Commission if approved that the funds could be put in an account and ready to go when vehicles are delivered. The commission unanimously approved the Sheriff’s request.

The CASA (Court Approved Special Advocates) appeared before the commission with a request for $3,000 to be used for Wetzel County which has 50 children kids in the program. The commission unanimosly approved the requested funding.

In other business the Commission unanimously approved the resignation of Anthony Parks and Douglas Estep from the Grandview-Doolin PSD (Public Service District) Board. Commissioners also approved new board members Joesph Mark Klug to a term starting September 30, 2021, and expiring October 31, 2023, and Catherine Ann Hohman starting September 30, 2021, and expiring September 29, 2025.