homepage logo

Magnolia Chapter Of Mu Alpha Theta Holds Initiation

By Staff | Apr 28, 2021

The Magnolia High School chapter of Mu Alpha Theta held its formal 2020-2021 initiation.

Mu Alpha Theta is a nationally recognized mathematics honor society for high school students and sponsored by professional organizations such as the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics and the Mathematical Association of America.

Mu Alpha Theta has been recognizing excellent math students at Magnolia High School since the fall of 1987.

For a student to become a member of the Mu Alpha Theta, the student must have completed Geometry and Algebra II with a mathematics GPA of 3.5 and be enrolled in a higher math class. The student also must have an overall GPA of 3.5. To remain a member of the honorary, the student must continue to be enrolled in an upper-level math class for the remainder of his/her high school years.

At Magnolia High School, the Mu Alpha Theta honorary helps with Math Field Day. Members are also available to tutor all ages of students in mathematics.

Two-year members include Andrew Heil, Mady Winters, Jacob Thorpe, Jonathan Snider, Todd Ritz, Mikalyn Renner, Gavin Postlethwait, Alex Parker, Alex Norton, Dylan Nice, Silas McKeever, Woodson London, Katie Kocher, Alyssa Kocher, Isaac Keller, Gloria Hernandez, Diana Hernandez, Chase Glover, Emmalee Estep, and Ethan Bohrer.

New members include Audrey Baker, Faith Yoho, Lily Spratt, Sydney Scott, Joy Lin, Jaci Rohde, Sarah Morgan, Kara Lynch, Drake Kocher, Jazlyn Ingold, Bre Herrick, Drew Clegg, Abby Clegg, Emerson Barcus, Kristina Beavin, Caden Cisar, Makayla McDougal, and Sam Zombotti.