homepage logo

New Martinsville City Council Holds Special Meeting to Swear in New Mayor

By Staff | Jul 8, 2020

L-R Joel Potts, Iris “Deaner” Isaacs, Tom Lemons, Jeff Gieseke, Kim Whiteman, and Mayor Sandy Hunt.

On Monday June 29, New Martinsville held a special council meeting for the swearing in of the newly elected councilmen, street commissioner and Mayor. All council members were present and Mayor Steve Bohrer called the meeting to order.

Pictured from left to right are council person, Joel Potts, council person, Iris “Deaner” Isaacs, street commissioner, Tom Lemons, council person, Jeff Gieseke, city recorder, Kim Whiteman, and Mayor, Sandy Hunt. Following the June 9, election, council members Potts and Isaacs, both won by najority vote in three way contested races, and Gieseke retained his seat unopposed, street commissioner Lemons was unopposed for his postion, and Hunt won by majority vote in a three way race for Mayor.

Following the ceremony attended by several residents and well wishers, previous Mayor Bohrer made a motion for adjournment which was seconded by councilman Joel Potts. Mayor Hunt took office and presided over the following regular scheduled meeting on July 6.