homepage logo

Sandy Hunt Wins New Martinsville Mayor Race

By Staff | Jun 17, 2020

Sandy Hunt

New Martinsville and Wetzel County elected several new officials on Tuesday June 9, 2020, as voters took to the polls on primary election day which had been changed May 12, due to the COVID-19. The turnout for the county was fairly strong with nearly 50 percent of Democrats and Republicans voting and close to five percent non-partisan turning in ballots.

For Mayor of New Martinsville, the city will have a new voice as Sandy Hunt claimed the position with 690 votes to beat out incumbent Steven Bohrer who finished with 515 votes followed by David Hoffman who received 360.

Hunt is a community activist who has been effective over the past several years an executive director of the Convention and Visitor Bureau. Through her leadership she has helped establish the Wetzel County Museum and has been active in organizing other community events including the BackHome Music Festival which draws thousands to the downtown area each year.

Sandy ran a campaign of an open form of government which would include modern methods of communications to inform citizens of projects underway or being considered within the city, along with an open door policy.

Wetzel County also voted in a new Magistrate as Donnie Harris a long time police officer with 20 years experience as a police judge grabbed the position receiving 2,297 votes to outdistance competitors Jeremy Shepherd 1,392 and Billie Zimmerman who collected 544.

Donnie Harris

Judith Goontz running unopposed claimed the other opening with 3,679 votes.

Wetzel County Board of Education also has a change as Linda Fonner a long time educator and Brian Castilow a current teacher and athletic director both outdistanced the opposition to claim the two seats up for grabs. Fonner was the top vote getter with 2,315 followed by Castilow who took in 1,875 tallies. Current Board Members, Warren Lee Grace Jr., 1,229 votes and William F. Jones, 1,143 followed next with Jeff Fox made his initial try for the position and received 795.

New Martinsville City Council had two contested races with incumbents Iris “Deaner” Isaacs receiving 210 votes to win Ward 6, and Joel Potts received 129 votes to hold on to his seat in Ward 5. Jeff Gieseke running unopposed stayed on in Ward 1 with 82 votes.

Ronald McCoy received 98 votes and Charlie Myers got 54 in Ward six, while Pat Durant with 112 and Scott Kernan with 70 rounded out the voting in Ward 5.

Running unopposed for Street Commissioner was Tom Lemons Sr. who received 1,357 votes.

Carla McBee

Democrat Timothy Haught was the only candidate running for Prosecuting attorney and received 2,132 votes in the primary.

Mike Koontz Democrat for Sheriff was also unopposed in the primary and received 2,229 votes, while Democrat Scott Lemley ran without opposition in the primary and received 2,239 votes.

For Wetzel County Commissioner four Democrats were running in the primary for one open seat.. Carla McBee came out on top with 1,022 votes, to beat out Eric Yost with 647, Dave Shreve 508, and Cindy Glasscock with 289.

Linda Fonner

Brian Castilow