homepage logo

AMP Awards Scholarship To Magnolia Senior Paige Brill

By Staff | May 6, 2020

Paige Brill receives AMP scholarship.

COLUMBUS, OH: American Municipal Power, Inc. (AMP) has announced the 2020 recipients of its scholarship programs, the Lyle B. Wright Scholarship and the Richard H. Gorsuch Scholarship. AMP is awarding a total of 10 scholarships to graduating high school seniors.

Paige Brill of New Martinsville is a recipient of the Lyle B. Wright Scholarship.

Lyle B. Wright was a strong public power advocate who served on the AMP Board of Trustees from 1979 until his death in 1986. The $3,000 scholarships in this program are awarded to graduating seniors whose household receives electricity from an AMP member utility. Thirty-one students were nominated for the Wright scholarship this year, five were selected based on their scholastic record, personal achievements and test scores.

Paige is a graduating senior at Magnolia High School and plans to attend West Virginia University to study nursing. Paige, the daughter of Ron and Pam, is a member of the National Honor Society and participated in cheerleading, softball and the Science National Honor Society.

“It is great to have a strong municipal electric community like New Martinsville as home to one of this year’s scholarship recipients,” stated AMP President/CEO Jolene Thompson. “I commend Miss Brill for her outstanding achievements and wish her the best of luck in her future endeavors.”

The AMP Board of Trustees established the scholarship programs in memory of public power leaders that contributed significantly to the organization and municipal electric systems in the region.