homepage logo

Morris Receives Commission Nod

By Staff | May 8, 2018

With approximately 65 percent of the vote, Democrat Gregory A. Morris captured a seat on the Wetzel County Commission May 8. Morris garnered 1,228 votes compared to the 646 votes earned by Democrat BB (Raymond) Smith. Morris will take his seat on the commission in January 2019 after current commissioner Bob Gorby (Democrat) retires at the end of this year.

As for other contested races…

In the race for three vacant seats on the Wetzel County Board of Education, Brian Price (1,586), Amy Cooley (1,627), and Jay Yeager (1,811) found themselves receiving the nod of Wetzel County citizens, while H. John Rogers garnered 810 votes. Price, Cooley, and Yeager will take their seats in July.

An expected May 21 canvass might clarify results in several New Martinsville races. Steve Pallisco and Debra Roberts each received 128 votes. Wetzel County Clerk Carol Haught noted that absentee and provisional ballots have yet to be counted, so the tie might be broken when those ballots are factored. She noted official results would come after votes are canvassed on Monday.

The battle for the First Ward seat appeared to be another close race with Jeff Gieseke capturing 59 of the votes. Matt Bland received 55 votes.

Another close race was the New Martinsville Recorder race. Kimberley Whiteman is the projected winner with 465 votes, while Sandy Hunt followed with 454 votes. Keith Nelsen garnered 420 votes.

Ryan Yost received the majority of votes for the Third Ward council seat with 116 votes. His opponent, Brian Rogers, received 91 votes.

Current New Martinsville Police Chief Tim Cecil was re-elected for another term, as he received 928 votes, compared to candidate Daniel Eastham’s 411 votes.

Gary Willey was re-elected to his position of street commissioner, earning 850 votes. Jeff Montgomery received 432 votes.