homepage logo

Dotterer, Smith To Lead River High 2017

By Staff | May 17, 2017

The River High School Class of 2017 will hold its graduation ceremony on Saturday, May 27, at 2 p.m. at Flannery Field. In the event of rain, the ceremony will be held in the R. L. Potts Gymnasium.

This year’s Valedictorian is Kara Dotterer, daughter of Bob and Laura Dotterer of Sardis, Ohio who will graduate with an Honor Diploma. Kara is a member of the National Honor Society, a 4-year Kiwanis Scholar, Franklin B. Walter Scholar, Monroe County Beacon Academic Achiever, and a member of the RHS Quiz Bowl Team. Outside of school, Kara volunteers at the Ronald McDonald House and sings at the Genesis Health Care Center. She has participated in College Credit Plus courses through Ohio University Eastern and Belmont College full time during her junior and senior year. Kara will attend the University of Akron in the fall to pursue a degree in accounting.

River High School Salutatorian is Nerissa Smith, the daughter of Dave and Holly Smith of Sardis, Ohio who will graduate with an Honor Diploma. Nerissa is a 4-year Kiwanis Scholar, member of the National Honor Society, and a Monroe County Beacon Academic Achiever who took several College Credit Plus courses while staying at the high school. She serves on the yearbook staff and student council at River High School. She is an eleven-year member of the Hilltop Swiss Lads and Lassies 4-H Club in which she showed dairy heifers and market rabbits and has served on the Monroe County Junior Fair Board. Following graduation, Nerissa will attend Muskingum University to major in Animal Studies.

The Vocational Valedictorian is Christina Murphy, the daughter of Vesta Murphy of Clarington, Ohio. During her two years at Swiss Hills Career Center Christina studied Medical Technology, took College Credit Plus courses, and is a member of the National Technical Honor Society, Director’s List, Buckeye Girls State, Science Olympiad, and Skills USA Contestant. Christina has been accepted at Bowling Green State University and plans to major in early childhood education.

Also graduating as Honor Students in the Class of 2017 are Jordan Doty, Collin Huffman, Alexandria Karpacs Brown, and Jacob Shreve.

Alexandria Karpacs Brown, daughter of Darrin Brown and Andrea Karpacs-Brown of Clarington, Ohio is ranked third in her class at River High School and will graduate with an Honor Diploma. She is a member and Vice President of the National Honor Society, a 4-year Kiwanis Scholar, County Winner of the American Legion Americanism Test, first place winner at RHS for the Voice of Democracy essay contest, OVAC All-Conference Academic Award and a Buckeye Girls State Delegate. Alexandria plans to major in Biochemistry/Pre-Med at The Ohio State University this fall.

Jacob Shreve of Hannibal is the son of John and Amy Shreve and is ranked fourth in his class. He is a member of the National Honor Society, a Kiwanis Scholar in 10th and 11th grade, an American Legion Americanism Test Winner, Monroe County Beacon Academic Achiever and has attended the Southeastern Ohio Regional Scholars Leadership Conference. Jacob is also a 4-year lettermen of Cross Country at River High School. Jacob plans to major in Marketing Management at the University of Akron.

Jordan Doty will graduate fifth in his class and is the son of Ronda Gust and Russ Doty of Powhatan Point, Ohio. Jordan is a member of the National Honor Society, a Monroe County Beacon Academic Achiever, and Top of the Class in various subjects. He also is a 4-year member of the River High School Basketball and Baseball Teams and was a 2016 Homecoming King candidate. Jordan plans to attend Alderson Broaddus where he will major in Accounting.

Collin Huffman, son of Neil and Ginger Huffman of Hannibal, Ohio, will graduate sixth in his class. He is a member and President of the National Honor Society, Senior Class Vice President, Student Council member, and a Monroe County Beacon Academic Achiever. Collin has also been a member of the RHS Football Team. Collin will major in Civil Engineering at Ohio University following graduation.

Members of the Class of 2017:

Haley Michelle Beckett, Ashley Juanita Belford, Hannah Nicole Bever, Tucker Robert Boggs, Andy Michael Boston, Trey James Odell Bowers, Erika Renee Bremenkamp, Chase Sebastian Brown, Bailey Renee Caldwell, Parker Lyndon Elijah Caretti, Michael David Collins, Isaac Nathaniel Curtis, Kristen Kay Deaton, Jakob Donald Dietrich, Kara Justine Dotterer, Carlie Joelle Doty, Jordan Michael Doty, Gage Michael Driggs, Rylee Brianne Driggs, Thomas Matthew Duff, Kyndra Alexis Earley, Ryan William Earley, Denny William Elkins, Isabella Rose Ensinger, Jarod Charles Fluharty, Tony Andrew Francis, Hunter Eugene Gallaher, Gabriella June Good, Ronald Neal Gray, Garett Bryce Greenlee, Selena Marie Griffon, Brittany Nicole Harden, Wesley Eldon Harlan, Madison Lee Harman, Brandon Duane Harrigan, Brent William Harrigan, Hunter Bryant Harris, Destanie Dimond Hart, Emelie Catherin Heater, Hailee Amber Henry, Donald Joseph Hoke, Collin Andrew Huffman, Madison Rae Huffman, Shayna Rose Indermuhle, Trey Marcus Isaly, Alexandria Elizabeth Karpacs Brown, Joseph Michael Kenney, Sara Elizabeth Kinsey, Mason Andrew Ladyga, Clay Walter Long, Brissa Rose Marshall, Luke Austin Matusik, Milah Kathleen Miller, Zoey O’dale Miller, Broc Addison Miracle, Jakob Andrew Mobley, Maria Leigh Rufener Morrow, Christina Gail Murphy, Alexis Diana Piatt, Nathan Thomas Rainey, Noah Emanuel Ramsay, Wyatt Danford Reynolds, Charles Wayne Roberts, Cody Michael Saksa, Lorissa Lilian Sarto, Megan Michelle Shepherd, Jacob Taylor Shreve, Dakota Michael Smith, Nerissa Megan Smith, Kyra Beth Stewart, Nathan Curtis Stewart, Shannon Ray Wellman, Braden William Whetsell, Barbara Ann Whiteman, Chase Dean Wichterman.