homepage logo

Heasley Captures Commission Seat

By Staff | Nov 16, 2016

Photo by Lance Heasley Lisa Heasley stands alongside Commissioners Larry Lemon, Robert Gorby, and Donald Mason. Heasley, in January, will take Mason’s seat, as he retires.

In an incredibly tight race, Democrat Lisa Heasley captured the office of Wetzel County Commission, garnering just 115 more votes than her opponent, Republican Charles Clements.

Charles Clements garnered 3,014, compared to Heasley’s 3,129. The closeness of the race was even evident in early voting, as results showed that Clements received 979 early votes, while Heasley took in 962.

Heasley will replace current commissioner Donald Mason, who is retiring at the end of December.

Of her victory, Heasley thanked her opponent for running a “good, almost too good” campaign. She noted that Clements and herself “both stayed friendly and kept our campaigns clean.”

Heasley said she knew she had skills she could bring to the office of commission, but didn’t realize all of the skills she would learn along the campaign trail.

“I met so many people and learned so much from them.”

Heasley thanked her husband, kids, and family for their support. She also thanked her friends and the Wetzel County Democrats.

“I look forward to working with Commissioners Lemon, Gorby, and Mason – and the public as well. I appreciate all of the support and will always do my best for the citizens of Wetzel County,” Heasley said.

In the race for Wetzel County Sheriff, current Chief Deputy Mike Koontz (Democrat) received 5,179 votes, compared to opponent Jeffrey Frank Jarrell’s 682 votes.

Jarrell is a member of the Constitution Party.

The county’s special excess levy also saw a win, with 4,907 voters favoring the measure, while 1,091 voters voted against the measure.

The vote for the renewal will authorize continuation to pay expenses in providing ambulance serve in the amount of $200,000 annually and $1,000,000 during the five-year term of the levy for maintaining and operating new Martinsville, Grandview, Pine Grove, and Hundred stations.

The levy will provide volunteer fire departments $300,000 annually and $1,500,000 during the five-year levy term, which will be divided equally during the 11 volunteer fire departments in New Martinsville, Paden City, Grandview, Silver Hill, Reader, Pine Grove, Jacksonburg, Folsom, Smithfield, Wileyville and Hundred.

The additional rate in levy in cents, per one hundred of assessed valuation on each class of property would be: Class I, .65 cents; Class II, 1.30 Cents; Class III, 2.60 Cents; and Class IV, 2.60 cents.

As to other results, Wetzel County Prosecuting Attorney Timothy Haught, who ran unopposed for his office, garnered 5,488 in the general election. County Clerk Carol Haught, who also ran unopposed, received 5,563 votes. Henry Parsons ran unopposed in the race for surveyor and received 5,396 votes from Wetzel Countians. After winning the Democratic nomination in the primary race, Incumbent Assessor Scott Lemley received 5,499 votes in the general election. Lori McCoy, candidate for circuit clerk, also won the Democratic nomination in the primary race. She received 5,421 votes in the general election.

Preliminary results, statewide, show that Republican Dr. Mike Maroney won the race for state senate, 2nd district, with 22,721 votes, compared to 15,005 for Democratic candidate Lisa Zukoff and 4,116 for Libertarian H. John Rogers. In Wetzel County, Maroney received 2,662 votes, compared to 2,370 for Zukoff and 876 for Rogers.

The Wetzel Chronicle anticipates having precinct-by-precinct results in next week’s Nov. 23 edition.

Though the county results were in early on election night, area residents were still guaranteed to be up late hours while waiting for state and national results.

“The tension was high at Wetzel County Democratic Headquarters on election night as the results rolled in,” said Frances Headley who works with public relations for the Wetzel County Democratic Executive Committee. After a lengthy campaign season that started well before the primary election, everyone is on edge, hoping for the best and looking forward to moving forward in Wetzel County and West Virginia,” she said.

Garnering 3,895 delegates versus his opponent’s 2,319, Delegate Dave Pethtel has been elected to his 13th term to the West Virginia House of Delegates.

Pethtel, representing Wetzel County in the fifth district, faced Phillip Wiley in the primary election.

Pethtel said he is certainly pleased with the number of people that turned out and voted, noting that “it was a very large turnout.”

“I’m pleased the people decided to re-elect me,” he said.

Pethtel also had a message for those who didn’t support them:

“I’ll continue to work hard and try to earn their respect,” he said.

The delegate also noted that he appreciated his opponent’s clean campaign.

“Many races became personal, and I’m certainly glad I didn’t have to go through anything like that.”

And with the election behind him, Pethtel has focused his attention on the future. He said now the election is over, it is time to help solve the people’s problems and try to “make their lives better.”