homepage logo

Edgell Falls In Election

By Staff | Nov 12, 2014

Incumbent Second District Senator Larry Edgell, democrat, failed to win his bid for re-election in the General Election.

While he won his home county with a vote of 2,373 votes compared to Republican Kent Leonhardt’s 1,514 and Constitution Party’s Jeffrey Frank Jarrell’s 120; the compiled district results did not follow the county. Across the district, Leonhardt captured 12,916 votes; Edgell, 12,235; and Jarrell, 673.

Democratic incumbent Dave Pethtel has retained his seat with 2,620 votes compared to Republican Mary Kay Milliken’s 1,264. That calculates to 67.35 percent to 32.49 percent.

Again, races that include many counties, the U.S. House of Representatives and U.S. Senate races went Republican in Wetzel County. David B. McKinley garnered 2,477 (65.17 percent) votes to Glen B. Gainer III’s 1,320 (34.73 percent) votes for the congressional seat. Statewide McKinley received 91,941 votes compared to Gainer’s 51,755.

For the senate seat, in Wetzel County the votes were as follows: Republican Shelley Moore Capito, 2,401 votes, 59.43 percent; Democrat Natalie Tennant, 1,479 votes, 36.61 percent; Libertarian John S. Buckley, 54 votes, 1.34 percent; Mountain party Bob Henry Baber, 58 votes, 1.44 percent; and Constitution Party’s Phil Hudok, 45 votes, 1.11 percent. Statewide the results were Capito, 280,123; Tennant, 155,456; Buckley, 7,360; Baber, 5,448; and Hudok, 2,544.

Democrat Larry Lemon was unopposed for his Wetzel County Commission seat. He garnered 3,064 votes.

In Wetzel County voters cast their ballots nearly two to one in favor of the constitutional amendment designed primarily for the Boy Scout’s Summit Bechtel camp-2,539 for and 1,319 against. It passed statewide with a nearly 62 percent endorsement from voters.

In Wetzel County the voter turnout was 35.93 percent. Statewide the percentage was 37.3 percent. All results are still unofficial.