homepage logo

Hopkins Retains Seat

By Staff | Jun 11, 2014

John “Hoppy” Hopkins

John “Hoppy” Hopkins has retained his seat as mayor of Paden City. He has garnered 231 votes in comparison to 181 for William “Bill” Fox and 8 for Cindy Slider.

In the Third Ward Robert “Bob” Postlethwait won the council seat with 73 votes. Challengers Eileen Smittle and Jeff Stewart got 52 and 34 votes, respectively.

Joel Davis III, unopposed for Second Ward councilman, received 101 votes.

The breakdown of mayoral votes by ward is as follows:

First Ward: 44, Fox; 78, Hopkins; 2, Slider.

Second Ward: 60, Fox; 69, Hopkins; 5, Slider.

Third Ward: 77, Fox; 84, Hopkins; 1, Slider.

In addition to his current term, Hopkins has served as mayor for two previous terms from 2004 to 2008.