homepage logo

Valley High School Names Top Students

By Staff | May 21, 2014

Co-Valedictorian Abigail M. Willey

Valley High School will hold their commencement exercises Thursday, 7 p.m., in the gymnasium.

The school will have four top scholars leading the class: Co-Valedictorians Abigail M. Willey and Nicholas D. McCardle, and Co-Salutatorians Alisha K. Carter and Allison B. Haught.

The daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Jeff Willey of Pine Grove, Abigail is vice-president of the class, secretary of Student Council, and recorder for National Honor Society. She is also a member of the French Honor Society. Abigail participated in track, band, cheerleading, basketball, Governor’s Honors Academy, HOBY CLEW, quiz bowls, American Red Cross Blood-drive, and American Cancer Society Relay for Life walks.

She has received the PTA scholarship; WVU Top Scholar, Diversity 1, Governor’s Honors Academy, and Vandalia Scholarships; and TGKVF W. P. Black Scholarship. Abigail will be attending West Virginia University this fall and plans to major in Animal and Nutritional sciences with an emphasis on Pre-Veterinarian.

Nicholas is the son of Dennis and Patti McCardle of Pine Grove, and grandson of Donald and Lucy McCardle of Glen Easton, W.Va. and the late Bill and Betty DeBolt of Pine Grove.

Co-Valedictorian Nicholas D. McCardle

Nicholas attends St. Vincent de Paul Catholic Church in New Martinsville. He participated in student council all four years of high school and served as vice president his senior year, which allowed him to represent his school at the local Wetzel County Chamber of Commerce meetings as a student delegate. Nicholas is also a member of the National Honor Society and served as president his senior year.

During his high school career, he has participated in marching and concert band all four years, attended Marshall University’s honor band, attended Wetzel County Honor Band, represented his school at the Hugh O’Brien Youth Leadership Seminar (HOBY), competed in county and regional Math Field Day, been a member of the French Honor Society all four years, held an office for his class and travelled to Italy with his school’s travel club.

An Academic Letterman, Nicholas has made the Principal’s List (4.0) all throughout high school and has challenged himself by taking upper and college-level courses. Nicholas will be attending West Virginia University in the fall as a Pre-Med Student/Biology Major, and he has received the PROMISE and Mountaineer scholarships so far.

The daughter of Robert and Melissa Carter of Folsom, Alisha is a PROMISE Scholar, and has received the Mountaineer scholarship from WVU as well as the student body president scholarship from the Mountaineer Parents Club. She has made the Principal’s List all four years at Valley High School, maintaining a 4.0. She is a member of the National Honor Society, French Honor Society, an Academic letterman, and she has received the OVAC AII Conference Academic Award for four years. She is a four-year varsity letterman and co-captain her senior year for girls’ basketball. She was elected to the HIT all tournament team. Playing the flute and piccolo, she has participated in the band for four years.

Alisha has been accepted to WVU and plans to major in Athletic Training this fall.

Co-Salutatorian Alisha K. Carter

The daughter of Jamie and Amanda Haught of Smithfield, Allison has been class president all four years of high school and has been a member of the VHS band, National Honor Society, French Honor Society, student council and the Travel Club, which gave her the opportunity to travel to Italy. Allison was also crowned Valley’s 2013 homecoming queen.

She is the recipient of the Promise Scholarship, Mountaineer Scholarship and the National Wild Turkey Federation Scholarship. Allison has been accepted as a direct admit to West Virginia University’s nursing program.

Members of the VHS Class of 2014 graduating class are: Mary L. Bassett, Leanna R. Blake, Summer E. Briggs, Edgar Duane (DJ) Byard Jr., Heather N. Cain, Alexius S. Campbell, Alisha K. Carter, Michael G. Cecil, Arizona L. Cunningham, Richard L. Derby II, Tasha L. Dulaney, Wesley K. Dulaney, Robert E. Edgell, Haley D. Fluharty, Cheyne E. Gill, John R. Goontz, Bruce Vincent Greeley, Ashton E. Hall, Allison B. Haught, Whitney A. Haught, Karissa J. Headley, Jacob T. Highley, Gunner L. Knotts, Triston C. Kocher, Timothy C. (TC) Long, Travis R. Loy, Luke C. Martin, Amy R. Mason, Nicholas D. McCardle, Billy A. McGraw, Caleb B. Palmer, Richard Rider Scyoc, Alyssa M. Sharpe, Angela N. Sharpe, Dmitri V. Shrum, Jay F. Smallwood Jr., William Brandon Stoneking, Heather N. Stout, Russell A. Stout, Abigail M. Willey, Kristen B. Williams, Isaac A. Work.

Co-Salutatorian Allison B. Haught