homepage logo

City Ballot Is Filled With Races

By Staff | Jan 29, 2014

Races exist for nearly every position on the May 13 New Martinsville Municipal Election ballot.

Incumbent Police Chief Tim Cecil is being challenged by former NMPD Officer Michael Thomas. Incumbent Street Commissioner is met on the ballot by Jeff Montgomery. City Recorder Bonnie “Schied Shannon is running unopposed for re-election.

The council races are as follows: First Ward Council, incumbent Holly Grandstaff and Jeremy M. Shepherd; Second Ward Council, incumbent Kathryn “Kay” Goddard; Third Ward Council, Jeff Wright and Mark Baxter; Fourth Ward Council, incumbent Steve Pallisco and Linda K. Barth.

All positions are for four-year terms.

Information about polling times and places will be printed prior to the election. Handicapped voters may vote by the absentee voting method if not able to vote in their respective wards. Applications are available in the County Clerk’s Office, Wetzel County Court House, Main Street, New Martinsville, and will be mailed upon request.