homepage logo

May 8 Ballots Develop

By Staff | Jan 25, 2012

Two more names have been added to the county ballot as the deadline for filing, Saturday, nears. So far all local filers have been for the Democrat party.

Mark Edric Eller has joined “Rob” Robert Haught and John Edward Brookover in the race for sheriff. That office is being vacated by James B. Hoskins who is currently completing the maximum two terms.

Amy Jo Dieffenbauch is the other new filer, putting her name on the ballot with incumbent Robert “Bob” Gorby and Cecilia Jane Ries in the commissioner’s race.

The retirement of long-time Assessor Ralph Phillips has opened that race with three placing their names on the ballot: Scott Lemley, James B. Hoskins, and Nita J. King.

While two seats on the Wetzel County Board of Education are up for election, only one person has filed for the office: Carolyn Lemasters Gatian, District 2. Rules dictate that the board can have a maximum of two members from any one district. Given the members not up for re-election-Mike Blair, District 1; Willie Baker, District 3; and Bob Patterson, District 3-the two new members can either be both from District 2 or one each from Districts 1 and 2.

The others who have filed on the county ballot are all incumbents: Prosecuting Attorney, Timothy E. Haught; Magistrate (elect two), Judith Phillips Goontz and Thomas J. Shepherd; and Surveyor, Henry M. Parsons.

The filing period ends Saturday, when the county clerk’s office will be open from 9 a.m. to noon. Filings may also be mailed with a postmark of Jan. 28 or earlier.

That is also the deadline for the New Martinsville municipal races.

New filings this week on that ballot are Keith Nelsen, 645 Fifth St., joining Steven A. Bohrer, 750 N. Main Street, in a quest for the mayor’s office.

Also, Matt Bland, 217 Maple Ave., will face Linda K. Barth, 224 Clark Street, for the First Ward council seat currently held by Holly Grandstaff.

Dennis Lively, 174 Paddock Green Drive, and Anthony Castranova, 827 Johnson Street, are both seeking the Sixth Ward council slot currently filled by Casey Corliss.

Joel Potts, 408 Laurel Terrace, is currently unopposed in his bid for re-election to the Fifth Ward council position.

All positions are for four-year terms. Those wanting to put their names on the ballot have until Jan. 28, when the city building will be open from 9 a.m. to noon. If certificates are mailed they must be postmarked before midnight of Jan. 28.

According to the filing list on the West Virginia Secretary of State’s Web site, www.wvsos.com, by Tuesday afternoon the following state and national races of local interest have only one change: Incumbent Republican David B. McKinley of Wheeling has filed for reelection to the U.S. House of Representatives for District 1. Democrat Sue Thorn of Wheeling is also seeking that job.

Other state races of local interest are as follows:

State Senate, Jeffrey V. Kessler, Democrat, Marshall County, District 2, Glen Dale, W.Va.

House of Delegates, Dave Pethtel, Democrat, Wetzel County, District 5, Hundred; Wm. Roger Romine, Republican, Tyler County, District 6, Sistersville.

U.S. Senate, John R. Raese, Republican, Monongalia County, Morgantown, W.Va.