homepage logo

More File For Office

By Staff | Jan 18, 2012

With a little over one week left to file for election, the Wetzel County primary ballot is taking shape. Races already exist for three offices. So far all local filers have been for the Democrat party.

The retirement of long-time Assessor Ralph Phillips has opened that race with three placing their names on the ballot: Scott Lemley, James B. Hoskins, and Nita J. King.

“Rob” Robert Haught and John Edward Brookover are both seeking the office of sheriff. That office is being vacated by Hoskins who is currently completing the maximum two terms.

Incumbent Commissioner Robert “Bob” Gorby is being challenged by Cecilia Jane Ries. Both have filed their intentions.

While two seats on the Wetzel County Board of Education are up for election, only one person has filed for the office: Carolyn Lemasters Gatian, District 2. Rules dictate that the board can have a maximum of two members from any one district. Given the members not up for re-election-Mike Blair, District 1; Willie Baker, District 3; and Bob Patterson, District 3-the two new members can either be both from District 2 or one each from Districts 1 and 2.

The others who have filed on the county ballot are all incumbents: Prosecuting Attorney, Timothy E. Haught; Magistrate (elect two), Judith Phillips Goontz and Thomas J. Shepherd; and Surveyor, Henry M. Parsons.

The filing period ends Jan. 28, when the county clerk’s office will be open from 9 a.m. to noon. Filings may also be mailed with a postmark of Jan. 28 or earlier.

So far one race has developed on New Martinsville’s ballot for the May 8 municipal election. Dennis Lively, 174 Paddock Green Drive, and Anthony Castranova, 827 Johnson Street, are both seeking the Sixth Ward council slot currently filled by Casey Corliss.

Linda K. Barth, 224 Clark Street, has filed for the First Ward council seat currently held by Holly Grandstaff.

Joel Potts, 408 Laurel Terrace, has filed for re-election to his Fifth Ward council position.

Also available is the office of mayor with only Steven A. Bohrer, 750 N. Main Street, officially giving his intention for that seat.

All positions are for four-year terms. Those wanting to put their names on the ballot have until Jan. 28, when the city building will be open from 9 a.m. to noon. If certificates are mailed they must be postmarked before midnight of Jan. 28.

According to the filing list on the West Virginia Secretary of State’s Web site, www.wvsos.com, by Tuesday afternoon the following state and national races of local interest are as follows:

State Senate, Jeffrey V. Kessler, Democrat, Marshall County, District 2, Glen Dale, W.Va.

House of Delegates, Dave Pethtel, Democrat, Wetzel County, District 5, Hundred; Wm. Roger Romine, Republican, Tyler County, District 6, Sistersville.

U.S. Senate, John R. Raese, Republican, Monongalia County, Morgantown, W.Va.

U.S. House of Representatives, Sue Thorn, Democrat, Ohio County, District 1, Wheeling, W.Va.