homepage logo

Ham And Bacon Show Nets Over $48,000

By Staff | Mar 16, 2011

The 43rd annual Wetzel County Ham, Bacon, and Egg Show held Friday at the Mollohan Center in the Wetzel County 4-H Grounds made $48,222.63. Of that income, almost $43,000 went to the 4-H participants and FFA students and just over $5,000 went to the Paul Henderson Memorial Scholarship Fund.

As usual, the exhibits judged to be the grand and reserve champions brought much more than the average. The grand champion ham by Kirk Shriver went for $3,836.25 to Grenadier Energy Partners and Drilling Appalachian Corporation (DAC). The reserve grand champion ham exhibited by Sophie Adams sold for $1,787.50 to AAA Homes of New Martinsville.

Raymond Yoho’s grand champion bacon went to high bidder Wetzel County Commissioner Scott Lemley for $2,625. The reserve grand champion bacon from Cody Bassett was sold to Simon’s Market for $1,200.

Chesapeake Energy purchased Curtis Tedrow’s grand champion eggs for $2,000. The reserve champion eggs from Sophie Adams went to Grenadier Energy Partners and DAC for $800.

The scholarship ham donated by Henderson Farm and shown by Annaliese Henderson was purchased by the Wileyville Volunteer Fire Department for $2,100. Chesapeake Energy purchased the scholarship bacon donated by Henderson Farm and shown by Katherine Henderson for $1,400.

The grand champion ham exhibited by Kirk Shriver, center went for $3,836.25, or $165 per pound, to Grenadier Energy Partners, represented at right by John Baird, and Drilling Appalachian Corporation (DAC), represented at left by Kenny Mason.

Also, McDonald’s purchased the scholarship FFA Carhartt jacket for $1,000.

During the show this year’s scholarship winners were recognized. They are Shane Kuhn, Dalton Kuhn, and Brady Koontz, all of Hundred High School; and Cody Bassett of Valley High School. Each will receive a $500 scholarship after successfully completing their first semester of college.

Buyers at Friday’s show were Scott Lemley–Wetzel County Commissioner; Palmer’s Funeral Home; Wileyville Auction House; Town & Country Days; TransEnergy; WesBanco–Kathy Wissmar; Witschey’s; Norris Pharmacy; Hundred Farm Supply; Wileyville Fire Department; Miss Blue’s Restaurant; David Morris, DeNoon Lumber, Ron and Carol Billiter; Simon’s Market, Weldon’s Office Supplies; Williams Funeral Home, Tennant Funeral Home, Union Bank of Tyler County; Sharon Dulaney–Circuit Clerk; Hundred American Legion Post 120; First Exchange Bank Hundred;

Logan Hassig, Tim Haught–Prosecuting Attorney; Henderson Farms; R&E Electric; Kim Higgins; DAC Energy; Grenadier Energy Parnres; Pine Grove Laundromat/Harmon Brown and Matt Briggs; Lewis Wetzel Chapter NWTF; Mike Coen Logging; McDonald’s; Middle Fork Farms; Bernard Johnson; Holsey Family; Chisler Brothers; The Feed Store; Upper Ohio Conservation District; Allen Rush; Pine Grove Sportsman Club; McDiffit Pipe Inc.; Sweet Melissa’s Restaurant; Dominion Resources–Hastings Extraction Plant; Brian and Joan Leary; Steve Long; HG Energy; Jean’s Country Florist; Eric Yost Excavating; Ace Home Center; AAA Homes; Witschey Contracting; Chesapeake Energy; Hundred Insurance; Mason’s Depot, and Dave Pethtel House of Delegate.

Producers were Alyssa Wright, Anna Barr, Anna Henderson, Aubrey Greathouse, Billy McGraw, Brady Koontz, Brittany Greathouse, Brittany Watson, Casandra Henderson, Chris Shackleford, Chris Varner, Clay Ueltschy, Cody Bassett, Curtis Tedrow, Dalton Kuhn, Dani Hayes, Gabby Wade, Holli Schell, Jericho Park, Josh Watson, Katelyn Blair, Kirk Shriver, Lathe Ueltschy, Leah Adams, Levi Streets, Lindsay Burley, Mary Bassett, Mel Thomas, Mitch Moore, Rachel Wyatt, Raymond Yoho, Rider Scyoc, Roger Stalnaker, Ruby Morris, Ryan Lemely, Samantha Riggenbach, Samantha Thomas, Shane Kuhn, Sophie Adams, Taylor Ashcraft, Tessa Morgan, and Turner Bragg.

Raymond Yoho’s sold his grand champion bacon to Wetzel County Commissioner Scott Lemley, left, for $2,625, or $300 per pound.

Curtis Tedrow’s grand champion eggs sold for $2,000 to Chesapeake Energy, represented at left by Amy Dobkin.