homepage logo

Lemley Victorious In Commission Race

By Staff | Nov 5, 2008

With 85 percent of the Wetzel County votes tallied at press time, Democrat Scott Lemley has won the seat on the Wetzel County Commission being vacated by Barbara King.

Lemley had 3,198 votes (57.36 percent) compared to Republican Larry Weekley’s 2,377 votes (42.64 percent).

“I’m very thankful to the citizens of Wetzel County for making me a county commissioner. I look forward to serving them for six years,” said Lemley. “It’s an awesome feeling.” He was congratulated by current commissioners Bob Gorby, Don Mason, and King.

In the other contested races, Democrat James B. Hoskins retains his title of sheriff. He garnered 4,655 votes (88.33 percent) compared to Constitution candidate Jeffrey-Frank Jarrell’s 612 votes (11.61 percent).

Incumbent Democrat Dave Pethtel also retained his seat representing the fifth delegate district in the House of Representatives. At press time there were 4,051 votes (83.25 percent) for Pethtel compared to Constitution candidate Denzil W. Sloan’s 811 votes (16.67 percent).

The two precincts not counted at press time were from North Steelton and Hundred.

Complete, precinct-by-precinct election results will be printed in next week’s Wetzel Chronicle.