homepage logo

RESA-6 Honors Baker

By Staff | Dec 14, 2010

In the photo, RESA-6 Executive Director Nick Zervos, right, presents a certificate of recognition to Wetzel County Board of Education Member Willie Baker for his years of service on the RESA-6 Advisory Council. Baker, who served in that capacity since 2005, was recognized at the Dec. 6 meeting of the board of education. (Photo by Jay Yeager)


Staff Writer

Wetzel County Board of Education Member Willie Baker received a certificate of recognition from the Regional Education Service Agencies for his contributions “to Wetzel County Schools and the students, educators and service personnel you serve,” said Nick Zervos, RESA-6 executive director, who made the presentation at the Dec. 6 board meeting.

“Your knowledge, vision, communication skills, team work, respect, common sense, and love for children.” Zervos continued, “are characteristics which you exhibit as you work toward continuous improvement of educational programs in Wetzel County School.”

Baker, a former member of the RESA-6 advisory council, served in that capacity since 2005. He was succeeded this year by Board Member Linda Ritz. By default, all county superintendents are members of the RESA-6 board of directors.

RESA’s eight regions in the state provide educational, financial, training, and technology services to their constituent schools. RESA-6 employs more than 160 full/part-time employees who serve Wetzel, Ohio, Marshall, and Hancock counties.

Zervos was on hand to make his annual report to the Wetzel County board that included an increase of about 2,000 persons who participated in fiscal year 2009 professional development training sessions. In the last three years, RESA-6 has held more than 2,000 training sessions for 27,710 professional school employees.

Zervos also told the board that RESA-6 has given GED testing to some 390 individuals and provided public service classes for almost 5,000 persons. In addition, the agency has responded to 5,752 technology service/repair calls and has filled 51,582 calls for substitute teachers in the four counties it serves.

School System Treasurer Jeff Lancaster reported that the school system had received a total of more than $140,000 in new funds. The largest amount – $85,213 – will be used for vocational programs. Another $57,206 in state funds will go toward different programs at county schools and help pay for substitute teachers.

Lancaster also told the board that it must complete its work on transfers and reductions-in-force earlier this year because of a change made by the West Virginia Legislature. The board must approve its final RIF list for the 2010-11 school year by Feb. 1, 2011, and its transfer list by March 15. Previously, the dates had been in April and May, respectively.

At present, Wetzel County is $1.5 million over the legislative school aid funding formula and ranks fifth in the state of all school systems that are over the formula for professional employees. Wetzel County ranks in 15th place of all county school systems that exceed the formula for service employees.

Lancaster explained that local, excess levy tax monies help fund positions that exceed the formula, while transfers and RIFs absorb other positions that cannot be funded. Superintendent Bill Jones noted that Wetzel County lost 37 students since last year, continuing a 20-year trend.

The board gave the go-ahead to the VHS Leadership Team to apply for a state grant to plan an increase in course offerings, perhaps as many as 20, for the 2011-12 school year. Included in those are expected to be additional honors sections of CORE and AP classes. VHS Principal Benjamin McPherson estimated that the grant would be acted on by Jan. 15, 2011.

Elsewhere, the board accepted the retirement of nine professional and service employees and acted on other personnel and staffing matters. Marikay G. Corliss will retire from her position as sixth grade teacher at Paden City Elementary School Dec. 31.

At New Martinsville School, Norma J. Deem will retire as library/media teacher on Dec. 31, while George G. Wilson will step down June 30, 2011, as Reading Initiative Teacher. Shirley E. Ritchea’s retirement as cook also was accepted, effective Nov. 30.

The board accepted the retirement of Glenda J. Hinerman as supervisory teacher aide at Long Drain School, effective June 30, 2011. At Valley High School, Joan E. kerns will retire June 30, 2011, from her position as MI/LD/BD teacher. Effective the same date, Madonna Sue Morgan will retire as science teacher at Short Line School and Robert W. Ripley will leave his position as driver education teacher at Magnolia High School.

In addition, the board accepted Raymond L. Pribble’s retirement as a bus operator, also effective June 30, 2011.

The board also accepted the resignation of Brian S. Jones as head soccer coach at MHS, effective at the end of the 2010-11 fall soccer season.

Stephanie M Long and Abby J. Robinson were approved as countywide substitute teachers, effective Dec. 7, and Monica L. Morris was hired as countywide supervisory teacher aide/Autism Mentor based at MHS effective Dec. 9.

In extracurricular personnel matters at NMS, Bryan E. Hostetler was employed as 7/8 grade football coach for the 2011-12 WVSSAC season and David C. Brill was hired as assistant 7/8 grade football coach. Theresa A. Hostetler was approved as the school’s athletic trainer. All positions are non-certified; Brill’s position will not be funded by public monies.

At SLS, the following persons were approved for contracted services as After School tutors: Susan K. Fletcher, Linda J. Haught, Cynthia S. McSweeney, Madonna S. Morgan, Kimberly L. Nelson, Brenda K. Nolan, Patricia M. Potts, Cathrina J. Spencer, Marsha L. Stackpole, Danielle L. Standiford, and Kelly J. Yoho.

Ted G. Summer was granted contracted services as SAT coordinator at LDS. All contracted services positions are effective Dec. 7.

Before adjourning, the board added the following persons approved as chaperones/volunteers at NMS for the 2010-11 school year: Donald Bordenkircher, Pam and Ron Brill, Beth and Mike Cunningham, Debbie Durig, Elizabeth Gillsan, Valeria Hammel, Becky Kocher, Renee Massey, Angie McDonald, Chuck and Jenny McIlvain, Nancy Quinet, H. J. and Debbie Rogers, Maria Scott, Julie and Scott Slie, Christy and Sean Stickler, Ashley Willhoite, and Kevin and Connie Yeager.

The board set its next regular meeting for 7 p.m., Dec. 20, at the board offices, 333 Foundry St., New Martinsville.