homepage logo

PSD Receives $1.5 Million Grant

By Staff | Dec 1, 2010

From left Belomar Regional Council’s Eric Fecat, PSD Treasurer Don Sweeney, PSD Secretary Bonnie Brown, former First Lady Gayle Manchin, PSD Chairman Forrest Tennant, PSD Project Manager Keith Nelsen, and Belomar Regional Council’s Julie Fecat are pictured with the $200,000 Small Cities Block Grant certificate awarded to the Wetzel County Commission to aid in completing the design on the Phase IV waterline extension project intended to extend water to 94 households in the county.

Former First Lady Gayle Manchin, on behalf of former Governor Joe Manchin, recently awarded more than $17.7 million in Small Cities Block Grants to 31 critical infrastructure projects throughout the state. Of those projects, the Wetzel County Commission received $200,000 to assist in completing the design on their $3.6 million Phase IV waterline extension project. This project will extend water to 94 households and eliminate a documented health situation in the areas along Chieselfinger Ridge, State Run Road, Eight Mile Ridge, and Richwood Run in the Jacksonburg area of the county.

Now in the design phase, Horner Brothers Engineers out of Clarksburg will survey the areas named above. Once the areas are mapped out on paper, the Wetzel County Public Service District No. 1 will work to attain the rest of the money needed to complete the project. According to PSD Project Manager Keith Nelsen, the PSD has already applied to the Small Cities Block Grant Program in the amount of $1.5 million. The remaining $2.1 million will be provided through the USDA’s Rural Utilities Service in the form of loans and grants.

The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development provides Small Cities Block Grant funds to the state. The Community Development Division of the West Virginia Development Office manages these funds. According to the Communications Office of the Governor, each of the 31 projects awarded Small Cities Block Grants will be completed with the additional help of over $50 million in other federal, state, and local funds.