homepage logo

Incumbents Retain Seats In Local Election

By Staff | May 11, 2010

Tuesday’s election did not change the make-up of the Wetzel County Board of Education. Incumbents Michael David Blair, Willie Baker, and Robert E. Patterson received 2,161, 1,695, and 1,532 votes, respectively.

While challenger Barbara Amos-King earned 1,908 votes, it was not more than Blair who was also from District 1. Because of the current make up of the board, only one newly-elected member can be from District 1. The other two must be from District 3.

Paula J. Ruckman got 1,070.

The story was similar in the county races as incumbents Don Mason and Sharon Maxine Yoho Dulaney won their contests.

Mason earned 1,692 votes for the county commission seat, beating out Keith Nelsen who got 1,133.

Dulaney won 1,818 votes for circuit clerk compared to challenger Carla Neely Wade’s 1,043.

Carol Marshall Haught was unopposed for her position of County Clerk. She garnered 2,536 votes.

Delegate Dave Pethtel retained his position in the legislature as 1,914 people cast their ballots in his favor. His challenger, Ronald L. Anderson, got 855 votes.

In the New Martinsville election, incumbent Steve Pallisco retained his seat for the Fourth Ward, with 154 votes, beating out challengers George Antonik with 91 and Leslie Manley with 45. Kathryn “Kay” Goddard won in the Second Ward with 142 votes, compared to Joey D. Smith’s 76 votes. Incumbent Chris Bachman was unopposed in the Third Ward and garnered 173 votes.

The wide-open race for street commissioner, left vacant by the retirement of Gary Lemon, was won by Gary Willey with 892 votes. He had been appointed to fill the slot upon Lemon’s retirement approximately 18 months ago. His opponents, Terry Tuttle and Aaron Ritz, received 414 and 126 votes, respectively.

Incumbents Recorder Bonnie “Schied” Shannon received 1,162 votes and Timothy Cecil garnered 1,167 votes. Both were unopposed.

While the city and board races were non-partisan, all other races only involved Democrats.

The First Congressional District House of Representatives race was hotly contested. On the Democratic ticket, in Wetzel County challenger Mike Oliverio earned the most votes, 1,549, compared to incumbent Alan B. Mollohan’s 1,305. On the Republican side, in Wetzel County David B. McKinley had a resounding victory with 367 votes compared to 214 for Mac Warner, 125 for Sarah Minear, 54 to Cindy Hall, and 37 for Tom Stark. However, the district encompasses more counties.

Wetzel County had a 32 percent turnout of registered voters.