homepage logo

NM Contests Emerge

By Staff | Feb 3, 2010

Three races have emerged in New Martinsville’s municipal election to be held May 11 on the regular primary ballot.

The position of street commissioner, vacated by the retirement of Gary Lemons, is being sought by his appointee, Gary Willey; Terry Tuttle; and Aaron Ritz.

There are also races for two of the three council seats up for grabs.

In the Fourth Ward incumbent Steve Pallisco is being challenged by Leslie Manley and George Antonik.

In the Second Ward, current representative Keith Nelsen is not seeking re-election, setting his sights instead on a seat on the Wetzel County Commission. Two residents want to fill his chair: Kathryn “Kay” Goddard and Joey D. Smith.

Incumbent Chris Bachman is unopposed for his Third Ward position.

Also unopposed are incumbents Chief Of Police Tim Cecil and City Recorder Bonnie “Schied” Shannon.