homepage logo

Four Days Remain For Election Filing

By Staff | Jan 27, 2010

Prospective politicians have only four more days to file for the primary election.

As of Tuesday afternoon the Wetzel County Clerk’s Office had the following people file for office, all democrats:

County clerk: Incumbent Carol Marshall Haught of Pine Grove.

Circuit clerk: Carla Neely Wade of New Martinsville and incumbent Sharon Maxine Yoho Dulaney of Wileyville.

County commission: Incumbent Don Mason of New Martinsville.

Board of Education (non-partisan): Incumbent Willie Baker of New Martinsville and Robert E. Patterson of New Martinsville, both third magisterial district.

County Executive Committee, First Magisterial District (female): Ann Landers of New Martinsville, Barbara Amos-King of Pine Grove, and Linda Britton of Hundred.

County Executive Committee, Second Magisterial District (male): Greg Morris of Paden City, Clyde Hochstrasser of Paden City, and Ralph E. Phillips of New Martinsville.

County Executive Committee, Second Magisterial District (female): Sandra McBee of Wileyville.

County Executive Committee, Third Magisterial District (male): Ralph K. Strippel of New Martinsville and Cody Corliss of New Martinsville.

County Executive Committee, Third Magisterial District (female): Mary Ann Yevuta of New Martinsville and Nelda Kocher Glover of New Martinsville.

Also, Carroll L. Cumberledge of Hundred filed in the non-partisan Conservation District Supervisor election, a position he currently holds.

The last day to file for office is Saturday. On that day the county clerk’s office will be open from 9 a.m. to noon. However, they can also accept any filings submitted by mail as long as they are postmarked by Jan. 30.

New Martinsville’s non-partisan municipal election will be on the county ballot. As of Tuesday those filing with the city recorder had not changed since last week, as follows.

Chief of Police: Incumbent Tim Cecil

City Recorder: Incumbent Bonnie “Schied” Shannon

Street Commissioner: Appointed Incumbent Gary Willey and Terry Tuttle

Second Ward Council: Incumbent Keith Nelsen

Third Ward Council: Incumbent Chris Bachman

Fourth Ward Council: Steve Pallisco

Local candidates filing with the Secretary of State’s Office for statewide offices of local interest are as follows:

U.S. House of Representatives, 1st Congressional District: Incumbent Alan B. Mollohan of Fairmont, democrat, and Republicans Cindy Hall of Wheeling, Patricia VanGilder Levenson of Wheeling, David B. McKinley of Wheeling, Sarah Minear of Morgantown, Thomas Stark of Parkersburg, and Mac Warner of Morgantown.

2nd Senatorial District: Incumbent Larry Edgell of New Martinsville, democrat.

5th Delegate District: Incumbent Dave Pethtel of Hundred, democrat.

6th Delegate District: Incumbent Wm. Roger Romine of Sistersville, republican.

Scott Lemley, is the only local person who has filed for a state committee. The democrat county commissioner has filed for Democratic State Executive Committee (male).

Voters can see a complete list of registered candidates on the Secretary of State’s Web page, www.wvsos.com, by clicking on the banner at the top.