homepage logo

Candidates File For City, County, And State Races

By Staff | Jan 20, 2010

With 10 more days to file for the primary election, several races are shaping up.

As of Tuesday the Wetzel County Clerk’s Office had the following people file for office, all democrats:

County clerk: Incumbent Carol Marshall Haught of Pine Grove.

Circuit clerk: Carla Neely Wade of New Martinsville and incumbent Sharon Maxine Yoho Dulaney of Wileyville.

County commission: Incumbent Don Mason of New Martinsville.

Board of Education (non-partisan): Incumbent Willie Baker of New Martinsville and Robert E. Patterson of New Martinsville, both third magisterial district.

County Executive Committee, First Magisterial District (female): Ann Landers of New Martinsville.

County Executive Committee, Second Magisterial District (male): Greg Morris of Paden City, Clyde Hochstrasser of Paden City, and Ralph E. Phillips of New Martinsville

County Executive Committee, Third Magisterial District (female): Mary Ann Yevuta of New Martinsville and Nelda Kocher Glover of New Martinsville.

Also, Carroll L. Cumberledge of Hundred filed in the non-partisan Conservation District Supervisor election, a position he currently holds.

New Martinsville’s non-partisan municipal election will be on the county ballot. Those filing with the city recorder as of Tuesday morning were as follows.

Chief of Police: Incumbent Tim Cecil

City Recorder: Incumbent Bonnie “Schied” Shannon

Street Commissioner: Appointed Incumbent Gary Willey and Terry Tuttle

Second Ward Council: Incumbent Keith Nelsen

Third Ward Council: Incumbent Chris Bachman

Fourth Ward Council: Steve Pallisco

Local candidates filing with the Secretary of State’s Office for statewide offices of local interest are as follows:

U.S. House of Representatives, 1st Congressional District: Incumbent Alan B. Mollohan of Fairmont, democrat, and Republicans David McKinley of Wheeling and Mac Warner of Morgantown. The Wetzel Chronicle incorrectly published the candidates who had filed re-candidacy papers for this race last week. Those who have filed pre-candidacy but have yet to actually file are Republicans Cindy Hall of Wheeling, Randy Smith of Terra Alta, Thomas Stark of Parkersburg, and Daniel Scott Swisher of Washington, as well as democrat R. J. Smith of Dallas.

2nd Senatorial District: Incumbent Larry Edgell of New Martinsville, democrat.

5th Delegate District: Incumbent Dave Pethtel of Hundred, democrat.

6th Delegate District: Incumbent Wm. Roger Romine of Sistersville, republican.

Scott Lemley, is the only local person who has filed for a state committee. The democrat county commissioner has filed for Democratic State Executive Committee (male).

New this year is the requirement for all candidates in House of Delegates and State Senate races to register with the Secretary of State’s Office. Previously, only candidates whose districts covered more than one county had to file with the Secretary of State.

Voters can see a complete list of registered candidates on the Secretary of State’s Web page, www.wvsos.com, by clicking on the banner at the top of the page. The list of candidates will be updated in real time.