homepage logo

Board Approves Wrestling For Short Line School

By Staff | Sep 23, 2009

The Wetzel County Board of Education Sept. 8 approved a 7/8 grade wrestling team at Short Line School for the 2009-10 school year.

The team will be self-funded and no school or county monies will used to support it.

In personnel and staffing matters, the board approved an unpaid medical leave of absence for Thomas R. Fluharty from his position as bus operator for the 2009-10 school year.

The board also approved a change in assignment for Amanda M. McPherson from music teacher at New Martinsville School to band, general music, and choral director at Magnolia High School.

The board accepted the resignation of Jason Ensinger as a countywide substitute teacher and as athletic director and 7th grade boys’ basketball coach at NMS. Justin R. Cochran was named to succeed Ensinger as athletic director.

The resignation of David L. Long as countywide substitute bus operator was received, as were the following resignations as countywide substitute teacher: Shauna K. Heil, Ashlea R. Minch, and Patricia A. Roberts.

A change in assignment was approved for Laura A. Barcus from countywide MI/LD/BD with autism teacher based at SLS to the same position based at NMS. An assignment change also was approved for Cathrina J. Spencer from reading intervention teacher at SLS to Title I Reading Teacher.

The board approved employment of the following persons as countywide substitute teachers: Valerie J. Cain, Tanya M. Cross, Alberta B. Johnson, Alana J. Minor, Marilyn K. Morris, Danielle M. Standiford, Leslie G. Tennant, and Jerrod A. Zwick.

In addition, John L. Goddard was approved as countywide substitute bus operator and Ralph A. Myers was approved for positions as half-time mechanic and substitute mechanic.

At Paden City High School, Cindy A. Kocher was approved as English teacher, a change in her assignment as 7/8 grade language arts teacher at SLS. The board also approved a change in assignment for Linda S. Zeh, from countywide MI/LD/BD with autism teacher at PCHS and at Paden City Elementary School.

In addition, Lorne K. Sine was approved for employment as non-certified 7th grade girls’ basketball coach at PCHS for the 2009-10 WVSSAC season.

At Hundred High School, Rex A. Rush was approved as technology education teacher and contracted services were approved for Virgil L. Wilkins as mentor teacher in general science/biology.

The board also approved Larry R. Tustin as non-certified assistant softball coach and a contracted services position for Stavros Atsas as alternative education instructor at HHS and at Long Drain School.

Also at LDS, William S. Dakan was employed as non-certified 7th grade boys’ basketball coach and Beth A. Sigley was approved as the school’s athletic director. The board also okayed contracted services for Marla J. LaRue a mentor teacher in special education.

The board approved the following bus duty supervisors for the 2009-10 school year:

HHS, Janet H. Moore; MHS, Jeanie L. Schupbach; PCHS, Donna K. Jones; and Valley High School, Mary A. Kessinger.

At LDS: Donna L. Dennis, Ronald A. Dennis, David L. Pethtel, and Dawn L. West;

At NMS: Pamela J. Shockley, Teresa L. Standiford, Thomas E. Tennant, and Aaron E. Vigliotti;

At PCES: Cathy J. Amos, Tammy D. Chambers, Marikay G. Corliss, and Jeffrey E. Hohn; and

At SLS: Jennifer B. Bates, Cynthia J. Brown, Linda G. Dulaney, and Christina N. McCoy.

The board approved a one pay grade increase for the following service personnel who are authorized to administer medication in the 2009-10 school year.

LDS, Barbara L. Yeager; NMS, Debra D. Throckmorton; MHS, JoBeth Simmons and Teresa J. Starcher; VHS, Pamela A. Jackson; and the Wetzel County Center for Children and Families, Cora E. Bowers.