homepage logo

Board Approves Several Items

By Staff | Sep 23, 2009

The Wetzel County Board of Education approved several matters during their Sept. 8 meeting.

Gregory W. Richmond was authorized to attend the Midwest Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation, and Dance leadership conference Sept. 30-Oct. 3 in Angola, Ind. The trip will be paid by the alliance and New Martinsville School’s Professional Development Fund.

The board also approved, on first reading, a change in the county’s compulsory attendance policy to bring it in line with state board of education policy. The change did not alter current requirements.

The following organizations at Valley High School received board authorization to raise funds in the school’s name: Science Department, Relay For Life, Academic Team, Archery Club, Band, Baseball Club, Boys’ Track Club, Girls’ Track Club, Cheerleaders, Chemistry, the Classes of 2010 through 2013, Football Club, French Club, Math Department, National Honor Society, RAZE, Student Council, TSA, Thespians, Volleyball Club, Yearbook, VoAg, and FFA.

Before adjourning, the board added Jennifer Hayes, Corey Kimble, and Anna Watson to the list of approved chaperones/volunteers at Hundred High School for the 2009-10 school year.

It also approved the following chaperones/volunteers at Magnolia High School: Cindy Aliff, Frank Aliff, Linda Anderson, Jennifer Archer, Craig Archer, Tammy Arman, Jackie Auenson, Sherry Bachman, Chris Bachman, Dave Benson, Jamie Benson, John Boggs, Terri Boggs, John Boughner, Cindy Boughner, Don Cain, Jean Carr, Mary Carroll, Tim Cecil, Maureen Cecil, Brian Croasmun, Sherry Croasmun, Davianne Croasmun, Israel Dawson, Dale Deem, Christy Deem, Dereck Dempewolf, Heather Dempewolf, Martha Forrester, Donald Fouchs, Karen Fouchs, Christy Glover, Rick Glover, Alex, Kay Goddard, Tim Greathouse, Dawn Greathouse, Mickie Hall, Dave Harshberger, Liz Harshberger, Tim Haught, Jill Haught, Jay Haught, Therese Headley, Frannie Herrick, Dick Hinerman, Sandy Hinerman, Dwayne Hoffpauir, Byrne Hoover, Michelle Hoover, Larry Hoskins, and Pam Hoskins;

Patty Jones, Debora Keys, Missy King, James Klug, Denise Klug, Melissa Landis, Carolyn Lemasters, Nelson Lively, Sharon Lively, Brian Lockhart, Melissa Lockhart, Cindy Long, Dennis Long, Jamie Long, Jim Longwell, Tina Longwell, Christy McCollough, Charles McIlvain, Jennifer McIlvain, Staci Miller, Lisa Mullett, Steve Mullett, Charles Murdock, Cheryl Murdock, C. J. Myers, Holly Myers, Rick Myers, and Dawn Myers;

Clayton Myers, Danny Neff, Lisa Neff, Lisa Nippert, Tammy Pennell, Tammy Pennell, Tim Pennell, Allen Phillips, Mike Piekarski, Jackie Piekarski, wayne Pixler, Julie Pixler, Tonya Postlethwait, Jud Priest, Mark Roberts, Debbie Roberts, Parnell Schoolcraft, Therese Schoolcraft, Jeff Seavy, Shelly Seavy, Horst Siffrin, Linda Siffrin, Jainee Smith, Chris Smith, Kelli Stackpole, Ken Stackpole, Bob Standiford, Danielle Standiford, Charles Starkey, Michelle Starkey, Christina Tharp, Lori Tuttle, Stephanie Underwood, Jason Warren, Cynd Warren, Brenda Weekly, Danny Westfall, Cathy Westfall, William White, Lisa White, and Rudy Yost.