homepage logo

Board Purchases Buses

By Staff | May 27, 2009

The Wetzel County Board of Education May 18 approved $179,975 for the purchase of two new school busses for the 2009-10 school year. They will replace two busses now in the spare school bus fleet.

To be ordered from BWAB International of Charleston will be one 77-passenger bus and an 89-passenger vehicle. Both are expected to be delivered late this fall, according to Director of Ancillary Services Brian Jones.

Jones also noted that chains and cameras will be added to the vehicles after market at a total estimated cost of $6,000. Two busses now in the spare fleet will be disposed of by public sealed bids, according to state and county board policies.

Jones also noted that the 89-passenger bus has storage capability in its undercarriage to allow the transport of equipment that might otherwise require a separate vehicle.

County Superintendent Bill Jones announced that the school system has received $456,921 in Step-7 funding from the West Virginia legislature to be used for such things as textbooks, strategic planning, professional development, and curriculum improvement.

Step-7 funds are part of the legislature’s allocation to the county, which is derived from a formula based on student enrollment.

Another $32,579.32 has been received as state supplemental funds for the child nutrition program. The funding also provides $1,000 to promote parent-involvement activities at Short Line School.

The board voted to continue its participation in the Donated Foods Program, which allows school to purchase food items at a greatly reduced cost under a program sponsored by the U. S. Department of Agriculture.

Wetzel County Schools also will participate in the National School Lunch and Breakfast Program next year which is expected to generate some $980,000 from fees for student meals and from related state and federal matching funds.

In personnel and staffing matters, the board approved the retirement of Bernard L. Shackelford as math teacher and technology coordinator at Hundred High School, effective June 30, 2009. Shackelford has been with the Wetzel County School System since 1969.

The board also accepted the resignation of James David Kimble from his position as technology coordinator at Magnolia High School at the end of the school year. Kimble has mentored Magnolia TSA teams to 14 consecutive state championships. He will retain his position as industrial arts instructor.

In addition, the resignation of Joe L. Sturgill Jr. was accepted as 7/8 grade social studies teacher at SLS. His resignation also includes his positions as the school’s athletic director, boys’ track coach, girls’ track coach, and head football coach of the 7/8 grade at New Martinsville School.

The board approved Ashlea R. Minch and Velisha I. Shepherd as countywide substitute teachers, both effective May 19.

In other employment changes, effective at the beginning of the 2009-10 school year, Terri L. Locke was moved from first grade teacher at Paden City Elementary School to second grade teacher at NMS.

Also at NMS, Barbara G. Slider’s assignment was changed from first grade teacher to second grade. Jo Ellen Snider will move from fifth grade teacher at Long Drain School to the same grade at NMS.

Lisa K. Toman will leave her position as halftime math teacher at Magnolia High School to become first grade teacher at NMS. The assignment of Thomas E. Tennant also was changed from supervisory teacher aide/Autism mentor at NMS to a similar countywide position.

At Paden City Elementary School, Betty J. Wilson will become a first grade teacher next school year, having been re-assigned from a position as as kindergarten teacher at the school.

The bus route for Douglas A. Bucher was changed for next school year, from the Chisel Finger/State Road Run/Fluharty Run route to Eight Mile/Furbee Ridge/Brush Run/Crows Run.

The board also approved a change in assignment for Candace O. Landers from cook III at NMS to the same position at PCES.

The board’s next meeting, June 1, when it will honor 15 school system retirees, at 6:30 p.m.