homepage logo

Board Cuts 10 Positions

By Staff | Mar 25, 2009

The Wetzel County Board of Education March 23 approved reduction-in-force orders for eight full-time professional workers and two full-time service employees, effective for the 2009-10 school year.

The professional employees who will be laid off and placed on the Preferred Recall List are: Angela M. Barcus, Lisa M. Ferrell, Abram S. Highley, Shannan P. Palmer, Sarah R. Rodriguez, Danielle M. Standiford, Joe D. Sturgill Jr., and Ted G. Summer. Service workers included in the orders are Alan J. Miller and Rebecca A. Winters.

Wetzel County Superintendent of Schools Bill Jones said the action was necessary because of a reduction in funding from the West Virginia Legislature that can be expected next year, based on Wetzel County’s continued loss of student population.

“In no way,” Jones emphasized, “is this a reflection on these employees’ job performance.”

According to “second month” figures-released in October 2008 by the state department of education-enrollment in Wetzel County Schools next year is estimated to decrease by as many as 150 students.

That figure may change and the board has until August 1, 2010, to rescind the RIF orders.

Meanwhile, the RIFed employees are eligible to bid on any position for which they are qualified, including those that will become vacant because of retirements.

The board also approved an unpaid leave of absence for Diana Emch, a cook at New Martinsville School, effective from March 2 through March 26, 2009.

After a short recess, the board reconvened in a non-legislative work session on the 2009-10 budget and adjourned at about 8:45 p.m.

The board has scheduled four meetings in April: a regular meeting at 7 p.m., April 6; and a regular meeting at 7 p.m., April 20, during which a vote is expected to adopt next year’s budget.

In addition, the board will meet for essentially two meetings during a special session at 6 p.m., April 21, to conduct transfer hearings, followed by a continuation of its statutory meeting of March 16 to approve levy rates.

All meetings are scheduled for the county office building, 333 Foundry St., New Martinsville.