Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

OVAC Lists All-Academic Team

August 14, 2014
Wetzel Chronicle

All area high schools were represented on the just-released Ohio Valley Athletic Conference All-Conference Academic Team.

Hundred High School: Ethan Umstead, Bethany Wheeler;

Magnolia High School: Austin Adams, Tyler Anderson, Rachel Arbogast, Derrick Blain, Katie Blatt, Preston Boswell, Troy Boughner, Hunter Brill, Jacob Brill, Grant Cain, Spencer Campbell, Alexis Cartwright, Kelsi Chapman, Mallory Chapman, Camryn Clegg, Emily Clegg, Erinn Clegg, Alayna Cline, Lauren Cline, Dylan Conner, Davianne Croasmun, Michael Dantrassy, Jordan Delaney, Abigail Durig, Matt Durig, Hannah Eller, Katie Ensinger, Bailey Estep, Evan Estep, Anna Gibb, Audrey Gibb, Alex Glover, Joanna Graham, Frankie Grilli, Peau Halahingano, Sydney Hale, Zach Haught, Krysta Henderson, Drew Herrick, Sofia Herrick, Daryan Ingold, Drew Keller, Devon Kelly, Joseph Ledergerber, Zach Lockhart, Drew LeMasters, Taylor Ludewig, Chandler Martin, Brandon Mason, Kristen Massey, Logan Massey, Brooke Maston, Paden McConaughey, Emiy McIlvain, Anne Miller, Chase Miller, Ashley Moore, Peyton Moore, Jacob Napier, Riley Nice, Jacob Pancake, Dylan Parsons, Lisa Patel, Nick Priem, Justin Rice, Brianna Ritz, Kyle Ritz, Cedar Sands, Shelby Sands, Carter Seckman, Cole Seckman, Tylar Seckman, Soren Shade, Emily Shank, Angela Sizemore, Courtney Slider, Eric Smith, Amanda Theodoro, Sumer Timbs, Zach Willhoite, Mitchell Winters, Brianna Young, Jacob Young;

Paden City High School: Craig Allen, Victoria Anderson, Graeson Baker, Logan Carroll, Myah Charkawi, Mitchell Cooper, Adam Croasmun, Alexis Glover, Morgan Goddard, Sadie Helmich, Jennifer Hickman, Hayden Hizer, Kayla Hizer, Megan Pierce, Samuel Price, Aubrey Ritchie;

Valley High School: Matthew Anderson, Maddison Arnolds, Rachel Baker, Bailey Brown, Brooke Brown, Erin Brown, Alisha Carter, Marah Dudgeon, Rebecca Gill, Ashton Hall, Allison Haught, Kara Hindman, Megan Martin, Amy Mason, Nicholas McCardle, Alex Midcap, Townsend Midcap, Peyton Palmer, Cassidy Price, Colton Ring, Trey Smith, Jacob Ueltschy, Abigail Willey, Kristian Williams;

River High School: Blaze Amos, Jarret Armann, Amanda Bennett, Haylee Bowers, Brandon Carpenter, Isaac Curtis, Monica Curtis, Zachary Dennis, Michael Dierkes, Kara Dotterer, Jordan Doty, Shayna Indermuhle, Alexander Karpacs Brown, Mason Ladyga, Ryan Ludolph, Mackenzie Marshall, Jason, Miller, Chelsea Pandzik, Benjamin Riley, Aurora Romick, Kyra Stewart, Rebecca Stewart, Mackenzie Wade, Haylee Winkler;

Tyler Consolidated High School: Aleah Black, Caroline Bantug, Alexandra Bubenchik, Aryn Carpenter, Megan Carpenter, Hillary Casteel, William Chapman, Karalynn Dalrymple, Evan Davis, Carly Fletcher, Noah Garrison, Scott Gorby, Shayla Griffey, Devon Harris, Kaylee Hartsfield, Taylor Hess, Mya Ingram, Alexis Jenkins, Laura Jochum, Sophia Kinnard, Ty Klages, Emily Knowlton, Johnathan Lancaster, Kristopher Lashbrook, Macy Long, Shandi Long, Sierra Mace, Devann McCoy, Kali Mead, Devinn Moore, Jasmine Moore, Marcus Nichols, Lillian Orr, Sydney Reed, Dylan Reynolds, Joshua Ruble, Katlyn Seckman, Joshua Smith, Kara Smith, Austin Souders, Kordell Stewart, Vanessa Templeton, Austin Thompson, Noah Warner, Daron Weekley, Hogan Wells, Madison West, Megan Wilson, Julian Work, Sydney Yoho.

In the selection process, all schools were asked to submit the names of any student-athlete who fit the following criteria:

*Be in grades 9-12

*Earned a 3.8 or higher on a 4.0 scale for the 2013-14 school year

*Participated in at least one varsity sport. They did not have to letter, but only participate for the season. The conference believes that athletes meeting those criteria practice just as long and hard as the "newsliners."

Certificates were presented to the athletic directors at their mandatory meeting on Wednesday, Aug. 13, at WesBanco Arena by Ohio University Eastern Dean Dr. Paul Abraham and Athletic Director E.J. Schodzinski.

Of the 50 OVAC schools, 47 (94 percent) submitted names. Schools not responding were: East Richland Christian, Frontier, and Shenandoah. This year, 2,031 student-athletes received a certificate, the largest number in nine years.

Ohio University Eastern sponsors this program, which is now in its ninth year. Students who choose to attend OUE receive a scholarship that is renewable for the sophomore year as long as a student's grades are maintained.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web