Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

City Races Set

February 12, 2014
Wetzel Chronicle

Races exist for nearly every position on the May 13 New Martinsville Municipal Election ballot.

Jeff Montgomery is challenging incumbent Street Commissioner Gary Willey. Incumbent Police Chief Tim Cecil is met on the ballot by former NMPD Officer Michael Thomas. City Recorder Bonnie "Schied Shannon is running unopposed for re-election.

The council races are as follows: First Ward Council, incumbent Holly Grandstaff and Jeremy M. Shepherd; Second Ward Council, incumbent Kathryn "Kay" Goddard; Third Ward Council, Jeff Wright (Mark Baxter has withdrawn from this race); Fourth Ward Council, incumbent Steve Pallisco and Linda K. Barth.

All positions, except the First Ward seat, are for four-year terms. The First Ward is for a two-year term that was vacated by the resignation of Linda K. Barth after she moved out of the ward.

Information about polling times and places will be printed prior to the election. Handicapped voters may vote by the absentee voting method if not able to vote in their respective wards. Applications are available in the County Clerk's Office, Wetzel County Courthouse, Main Street, New Martinsville, and will be mailed upon request.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web