Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Three Bowlers Are Inducted Into Hall Of Fame At Banquet

$2,226 Awarded In Prizes

April 25, 2012
Wetzel Chronicle

The New Martinsville Men's Bowling Association held its 51st annual banquet at Quinet's Court Restaurant April 14, and inducted three new members into the 21st Hall of Fame.'

A total of $2,226.75 in prize money was distributed to winners in the annual city tournament, held the last week in February and first week in March at Bruce Bowling Lanes. Jackets also were presented to bowlers in the handicap division, compliments of sponsor J.C. Mensore Distributors and Yuengling Lager.

Inducted into the Hall of Fame were Bill Meredith, Dave Farley, and Ralph Corley. Meredith has bowled for more than 50 years. His all-Marine team helped win a Navy Championship and he has bowled with several teams in the NMMBA.

Article Photos

In the photo, from left, are Bill Meredith, Dave Farley, and Ralph Corley, who were inducted into the New Martinsville Men’s Bowling Association Hall of Fame April 14 at the group’s annual banquet.

Farley, this year's Senior Singles and All-Events champion, has been a bowler for more than 25 years and has won both the American Legion and Moose state championships.

Corley has also been a Legion state champion, as well as winner of the National Amateur Bowlers Association championship in the more than 20 years he has bowled.

"Hall of Fame members are inducted because of their achievements and/or their service to the sport," said Keith Craycraft, owner of Bruce Lanes in New Martinsville and hall-of-famer himself. "What they all have in common is their loyalty to bowling and to fellow bowlers."

The NMMBA has team championships of both handicap and actual winners. Winner of the handicap team championship was the KC Pro Shop Tuesday Night team (3,368 hdcp.) of Junior Ice, Chris Ice (653, high score), Jim Brown, Rick Truex, and Bull Marling.

Actual division winner was the Brat Pack team (3,155 act.) of Chuck Fischerkeller (703), Ron O'Neil Jr., Bull Marling, Chet Richmond, and Jim Longwell.

In the handicap matchup of Doubles Champions, the winners were the teams of Al Hanood (645) and Clay Cecil (1,424 hdcp.); and Ron O'Neil Jr and Chuck Fischerkeller (1,366 act.);

Singles winners were Chris Ice (755 hdcp.) and Chuck Fischerkeller (718 act.);

Senior Singles champions were Dave Farley (727 hdcp.) and Arnold Isner (688 act.) and the All-Events winners were Dave Farley (2,176 hdcp.) and Chuck Fischerkeller (2,091 act.).

Tournaments high scorers were Mike Craycraft, 279-706; Chuck Fischerkeller, 703, 718; Jimmy Longwell, 700, 707; and Ron O'Neil Jr., 277.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web